We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious diner in a crowded place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guajillo

Guajillo
1727 Wilson Blvd., Colonial Village, Arlington, VA 22209
703 807 0840
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 709 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious diner in a crowded place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were nicely welcomed and got a good meal. The burrito is great, so are the sauces. And the price was right. It was crowded so there was a lot of noice surrounding us but not in a annoying way.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    39
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo Grande, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yum !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We discovered this restaurant because it wasn't far from our motel. It was the day before Cinco de Mayo so figured we would have to wait, but we were quickly seated and the service was amazing., It was a little spicy for our "tweener" granddaughters but they liked it. We thought the food was amazing.....with wonderful mole and poblano sauces. The salsa was really really good ! Very impressed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Virginia/DC area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This really is the best by far. They have several mole recipes that are outstanding. Had duck mole recently, which is the best I have ever had.... And I lived in Mexico for seven years.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

This isn't your typicL Mexican restaurant. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but the food had much more subtlty and depth of flavor than the usual enchiladas smothered in cheese that you get at most Mexican places. I had the Pollo Relleno which was chicken stuffed with goat cheese and covered in a lovely green sauce. It came with a salad that included corn and pickled onion slices for added texture and flavor. The black beans that came with the dish had a nice smoky flavor. My husband and son had a seafood dish that was really a stew with scallops, shrip and calamari, rice and veggies. They loved it - ate every bite and thought about licking their plates. Our daughter had fish tacos that she said were excellent and served on handmade corn tortillas. The servers were very friendly, and the service was excellent even on a very busy night.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Good Mexican, A Little Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My spouse and I have visited this place a couple of times. The menu is more than your average Mexican and I encourage sampling of something new and different; I think this place really excels in the less common Mexican fare. For instance, I was not terribly impressed when I orderd a burrito, but when I ordered one of the less traditional entrees the next time, I was very pleased. The service has typically been very good, even when the place is busy. We'll go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guajillo also viewed

 
Arlington, VA
Arlington, VA
 

Been to Guajillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guajillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.