We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious diner in a crowded place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guajillo

Guajillo
1727 Wilson Blvd., Colonial Village, Arlington, VA 22209
703 807 0840
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 676 restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious diner in a crowded place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were nicely welcomed and got a good meal. The burrito is great, so are the sauces. And the price was right. It was crowded so there was a lot of noice surrounding us but not in a annoying way.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    32
    37
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo Grande, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yum !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We discovered this restaurant because it wasn't far from our motel. It was the day before Cinco de Mayo so figured we would have to wait, but we were quickly seated and the service was amazing., It was a little spicy for our "tweener" granddaughters but they liked it. We thought the food was amazing.....with wonderful mole and poblano sauces. The salsa was really really good ! Very impressed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Virginia/DC area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This really is the best by far. They have several mole recipes that are outstanding. Had duck mole recently, which is the best I have ever had.... And I lived in Mexico for seven years.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

This isn't your typicL Mexican restaurant. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but the food had much more subtlty and depth of flavor than the usual enchiladas smothered in cheese that you get at most Mexican places. I had the Pollo Relleno which was chicken stuffed with goat cheese and covered in a lovely green sauce. It came with a salad that included corn and pickled onion slices for added texture and flavor. The black beans that came with the dish had a nice smoky flavor. My husband and son had a seafood dish that was really a stew with scallops, shrip and calamari, rice and veggies. They loved it - ate every bite and thought about licking their plates. Our daughter had fish tacos that she said were excellent and served on handmade corn tortillas. The servers were very friendly, and the service was excellent even on a very busy night.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good Mexican, A Little Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My spouse and I have visited this place a couple of times. The menu is more than your average Mexican and I encourage sampling of something new and different; I think this place really excels in the less common Mexican fare. For instance, I was not terribly impressed when I orderd a burrito, but when I ordered one of the less traditional entrees the next time, I was very pleased. The service has typically been very good, even when the place is busy. We'll go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guajillo also viewed

 

Been to Guajillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guajillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.