We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee, great croissants, great prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Buns Bread Co.

Best Buns Bread Co.
4010 Campbell Avenue, Arlington, VA 22206
+1 703-578-1500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 700 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great coffee, great croissants, great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

On a beautiful Tuesday morning, Best Buns provided a superb cup of coffee and truly outstanding pastry options to jump start our first day touristing this area of DC.

Seating inside expands into the adjacent upscale restaurant until later when that business begins its own lunch service and had it been a bit warmer, there is sidewalk seating.

We are eager to return to try the yummy looking lemon bars.

Prices are quite reasonable for everything we saw.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    18
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dakar, Senegal
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great rotating bakery selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Love the breads here- different loaves are baked on different days (I get my brioche here and then freeze it). Their mango chicken salad is a surprisingly tasty non-bakery item. Some outdoor seating, a great place in Shirlington.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delectable Bagels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I only stopped by here for some breakfast. They serve Starbucks coffee (although I don't think they accept the mobile app or cards, so you'll have to pay with cash or a credit/debit card), and have some great bread like everyone said. My only issue was that they didn't toast the bagel or put the cream cheese on there for you, but there was a toaster on the side of the shop. The employees will welcome everyone who walks in with a "Welcome!", which is nice, but it looks like the people working in the front were running all over the place to get things done, even though the place was not crowded at all (at 9:30AM). It will seem like your being pressured into getting your order in. Regardless, the wait was only a couple minutes, and everything bagel was delicious. (Side note: If your sitting outdoors on a nice day, sparrows may come up to you to get some bread crumbs you throw at them. One guy I saw almost got a sparrow to land in his hand!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had the egg sandwich. It was sooooo good. I couldn't eat the whole thing. Would definitely go back for a quick breakfast.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“European Style Breads at Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The baguettes and croissants are among the best available in the Washington area. Best buns pastries which I have tried are freshly made and tasty. My dog loves the dog biscuits.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Best Buns Bread Co. also viewed

 

Been to Best Buns Bread Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Buns Bread Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.