We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A local favorite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Charrito Caminante

El Charrito Caminante
2710 Washington Blvd, "# A", Arlington, VA 22201
(703) 351-1177
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #276 of 640 Restaurants in Arlington
Restaurant details
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“A local favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

To me, there is almost nothing better than the steak sandwich at El Charrito! I could eat one every day of my life. Pupusas and carne asada plates are excellent choices as well. Strayed one time when I ordered the chicharones with yuca fries, and it was not so good. So if you stick to the steak dishes, you'll love it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great tacos and pupusas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We order from here at least once a week. Great food at fantastic prices! Dinner for 3 people under $20!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“These tacos are the real deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I have been to El Charrito Caminante a couple times, and we're hooked! We love the goat tacos and chorizo tacos. They're big, authentic and taste great! The burritos are great too. Haven't tried the nachos yet, but if they're anything like the picture they will not disappoint!

Straight up, try this place! You will not be disppointed (and neither will your wallet).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I crave their tongue taco's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I love coming by to visit Jose and the family. (No, not mine, his!) But anyway, their no-nonsense demeanor always cracks a smile when i walk in & he knows what I want... taco (or if I'm really hungry, a burrito) de lengua, herb papusa, with a strawberry-banana Jumex. Basic, quick, awesome food.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Probably the best tacos in Northern Virginia.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I have traveled for tacos, and I keep coming back to TECC for the best there is in this area. Try the lengua for flavor that is out of this world! The cabrito is delicious as well, but if you want a little smokey flavor, try the barbacoa. The chorizo is a bit of a disappointment for me, but my friends like it best, so go figure. The salsa is good too, I think it is made by Jose, the owner. The tortas was good, as is the empanada, but they didn't quite measure up to the tacos. The horchata drink is good too, very sweet and cinammony, if that is a word.
This place is a carry out with just 6 or 7 stools inside. It is part Salvadoran and part Mexican, but all delicious. There is a park 2 blocks away with picnic tables that is a perfect place to eat you tacos. Lyon Park is on Fillmore between Pershing and 2nd if memory serves.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Charrito Caminante also viewed

 

Been to El Charrito Caminante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Charrito Caminante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.