We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't over look this superior standby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boulevard Woodgrill

Boulevard Woodgrill
2901 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22201
703-875-9663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #138 of 640 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't over look this superior standby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Woodgrill has been there for years. Don't overlook it in favor of the lastest trendy Clarendon restaurant. There's a reason it's lasted all this time: the food is great! Great steak and fish offerings. Reasonably priced.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    35
    13
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, fast & friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Went here last Sunday for brunch with my boyfriend. I found the restaurant online since neither one of us is familiar with the area. We were thrilled with our experience here. Upon walking in it was busy, but not crazy or uncomfortable. We were happy to hear the wait was only 20 minutes. We got bloody marys at the bar while we waited and they were delicious. We were seated in what felt like less than the quoted time and our server was right over to check in with us. She was friendly and the timing was all perfect, despite being busy with her full section. The food was excellent and the portions were hearty. Even though the place was busy we didn't feel rushed at all (we lingered chatting and finishing up). I would definitely recommend this place! Being the GM of a restaurant myself, I always value an excellent meal with friendly service and that's what you'll find here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“"Tastless food at high prices"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were there for breakfast/lunch on Sunday morning. The service was ok but clearly the server was nervous because we were a larger group. The food was tasteless, it was cold and it was not cooked well. How can you kill an omelet? It was undercooked, it had no flavor and for what they charged they should be ashamed of themselves. This restaurant was chosen by someone in the family who had been there before. I would not go back if it was my choice. I try always to give the restaurant the benefit of the doubt but more than one of the people at breakfast felt the same way. Looks can be deceiving and it may have looked good but it certainly was not. Go somewhere else.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Reasonable prices, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Strolling down Wilson Blvd you are confronted with numerous choices, but a place that has grill in the title has to offer steak, and that is what I was hungry for, the choice was therefore not difficult. We were seated near the stairs and kitchen, but that was actually not so bad since the place was busy and noisy. In particular a nearby table was very loud, as the waiter explained, drinking heavily.
The atmosphere was odd - kind of an upscale cafeteria style - nothing really that catches the eye, but the food as quite the opposite. The wings ordered as appetizer were tasty - a touch of sweet and spicy, while the steak was very nicely flavored, if a bit more done than the medium I ordered. The sauce served with the steak was, no question, delicious. The asparagus was grilled as well and very, very tasty.
For four of us, drinks included, the tab was reasonable. The service was friendly and attentive, no complaints there. I'd recommend it to anyone for a good meal at a reasonable rate.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best ribs ever and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This area Courthouse/Clarendon is full of eateries and a great location for visiting DC. Being alone I sat at the bar. I changed my mind after the order was placed but this did not pose a problem. The Irish bartender was friendly and helpful. I have to say these were the best ribs I ever had. They literally fell off the bone but were in no way over-cooked. Not sure what they do. The menu is wide-ranging and they have a good range of wines by the glass. Its a popular place and I can understand why.

http://boulevardwoodgrill.com/

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boulevard Woodgrill also viewed

 

Been to Boulevard Woodgrill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulevard Woodgrill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.