We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Breakfast-DC Area Prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of cityhouse

cityhouse
1325 Wilson Boulevard, Hyatt Arlingtom, Arlington, VA 22209 (Formerly Mezza9 Mediterranean Cuisine)
703 276 8999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
cityhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #174 of 693 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $12 - $38
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fort Myer Drive
Transit: Across the street from the Rosslyn Metro Station by Blue or Orange Line.
Description: cityhouse serves up classic American cuisine with an emphasis on gourmet flair and presentation. Seafood, steaks and chops have top billing on a menu that begs to be tasted. Expansive floor to ceiling windows offer impressive views of downtown Rosslyn.
Garwood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast-DC Area Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Had an enjoyable breakfast but was a little pricey to be honest. Had a very comfortable setup and was happy with the service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    5
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“expensive food, slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I had dinner here with a group of colleages. The place has little ambiance, the food took forever to be served and left me unimpressed with the taste of it. For the price of the food I would definitely have expected better / faster service and better quality.
As appetiser I had humus, that tasted well enough. However the pita bread pieces served with it were very oily. Something I did not understand at all as pita bread is just that: bread. No where in the Middle East have I ever been served fatty pita breads. Anecdotal: the humus was served in a small preserving jar with lid. After opening the jar kept falling over on the plate, because the lid of a preserving jar is heavy and the content of humus was not heavy enough to keep it upright. A very silly way of presenting this food. The humus would have looked, and tasted, fine if it had been served in a small bowl. My main course of steak was likewise unimpressive.
It was a good thing we had a lot to discuss as the food took so long to be served, that the restaurant gave us all free deserts.
The ambience is lacking in this restaurant. Empty and not inviting. All in all not a place I will revisit, even if I am in the neighbourhood at least 4 times per year.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We arrived in Washington, D.C. along with a rain storm and opted to eat in the hotel restaurant not expecting much. To our surprise it was great! We had a late lunch, but the service was excellent and the food was very nicely prepared at tasted awesome. Glad we stopped in. Crab dip was very good and so was the chicken BBQ pizza.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“CityHouse VA”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

nothing amazing.... it's basic hotel food..... no surprises.... but the drinks and the bartender were great....

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I chose the breakfast buffet. The selection of both continental and full breakfast items was good, though the fruit selection was a bit sparse. Cereal selection was diverse as were breads and rolls. The omelet capability of the duty cook was very good and the hot items were fresh and plentiful despite a solid number of patrons. The atmosphere of the restaurant is pleasant with a wood accented library feel and pleasant noise levels.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed cityhouse also viewed

 

Been to cityhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage cityhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.