We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently satisfying” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlyle Grand Cafe

Carlyle Grand Cafe
4000 Campbell Avenue, Arlington, VA 22206
703-931-0777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 675 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Consistently satisfying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have had dinner her numerous times over the years. The food preparation, quality and service are always excellent. Prices are very reasonable for what you get in the DC area. I especially like the seafood entrees...salmon, shrimp grit cakes, and crab cakes, along with the salads and soups. My only complaint involves the wine selections by the glass. The wines are often brands commonly seen at Trader Joe's and local grocery stores. I would recommend that they mix up the varieties to include less obscure (but similarly priced) choices by the glass.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    119
    38
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Florida
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“pls don't sweep the floor while im eating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Look, I’m telling you that I really like carlye in shirlington section of Arlington. We always go there when we visit family in northern Virginia. I love the call ahead service so you can avoid the lines. Our wait was just a few minutes. our server mauric #145 was very pleasant.

My boneless ribeye was hot and cooked as ordered. The salmon salads and flounder piccata were excellent. I love their mashed cauliflower and always order it instead of the mashed potatoes.

Everything perfect… EXCEPT.. I know it was late.. around 9.30 on a Sunday night and I know the staff wants to go home, BUT PLEASE DO NOT SWEEP THE FLOORS NEXT TO US AS WE ARE EATING! I find this gross having dust fly up. Please wait until I go home before you clean the restaurant.

Would I go back… certainly. It’s a fun relatively inexpensive place to eat. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norcross
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

There were three people and we all had steak. The food was cooked as ordered and served with a smile. The steaks were above average and we would go back again

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lunch with co-workers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Recently had lunch here with some coworkers- about 9 of us in total. Service was great, restaurant was quite quiet, although maybe the govt shutdown/furloughs have cut into their lunch business. Menu had lots of options, and they had great wine choices. I had the New Orleans shrimp and grit cakes. It had great flavor, but the ratio of sauce to grit cake was definitely off. I had lots of sauce left over, but no cake to sop it up. That being said, I will most definitely be back- everything my coworkers had also looked delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ask for Marion at the bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

After a disappointing visit to capital city brewery across the street we were in need of a sweet ending. We sat at the bar where we met Marion (sp?) who was the picture of a perfect bartender. Smile, eye contact , engaging and suggestive selling. Granted we only had a coffee drink, espresso and cheesecake. But this and their sister restaurant Jackson's are phenomenal and deserve the great reviews they always get. This will be our new go to spot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlyle Grand Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Carlyle Grand Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlyle Grand Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.