We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlyle

Carlyle
4000 Campbell Avenue, Arlington, VA 22206 (Formerly Carlyle Grand Cafe)
(703) 931-0777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 715 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: High energy, American bistro with seasonal outside dining and year round classic fare. A perennial brunch favorite.
DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I love this place. Favorite restaurant in Shirlington and one of the top five in DC area. This reastuarant is a part of the Great American Restaurants. Service and food have always been great and consistent when I visit. I usually order the tex mex egg rolls, hot spinach & artichoke dip, and/or the short smoked salmon filet. I have also had the chicken grill sandwhich.

I would defintely recommend this restaurant. Please note this is a popular place so depending on the time of day you visit you may have a wait. They do not recommend take out, believe it states do not offer take out on menu, but I have ordered to go one two occasions within the last 6 months.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    148
    42
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I had reservations for a party of 20 and was impressed with the professionalism and friendliness of staff. The tables were set up and waiting for us and the waitress was standing by. The server handled all 20 of us by herself and did a fantastic job!! We all ordered off the menu and were not disappointed in any of the orders. The waitress was attentive, but did not hover, it was a very enjoyable meal. Definitely recommend as one of the better restaurants in the Arlington area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good company that always guarantees good service and food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Any of the 5 restaurants are a safe bet! Had to knock down a star for always having the same menu and it would help to spice things up and have food that set you apart from the masses. Decor is somewhat Old Timey...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good enough to go twice in a week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

On a recent trip to DC, we went to the Carlyle at the invitation of a business colleague. We enjoyed ourselves enough to go back once more with another colleague.
The servers were friendly and attentive. They recommended that we try the chocolate waffle for my boss' birthday dessert. Yum!
The food was enjoyable and affordable.
It was also nice to see a "dog friendly" restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Poor experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Maybe we were there on busy night but service was slow and disjointed, even hard to get attention to get the bill always a pet hate of mine!
We got bread after starters despite one of starters being soup!
Main course of tenderloin came lookwarm with limited mash potatoes, shrimp and grits was fine.
They stocked Hendricks gin but seemed unable to grasp that it should be served with cucumber.
Service was best described as surly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlyle also viewed

 

Been to Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlyle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.