We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better experience at Carlyle.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlyle

Carlyle
4000 Campbell Avenue, Arlington, VA 22206 (Formerly Carlyle Grand Cafe)
(703) 931-0777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 650 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Doing business, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: High energy, American bistro with seasonal outside dining and year round classic fare. A perennial brunch favorite.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the better experience at Carlyle.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Got there after 7p on Friday night for 2 and amazingly were seated upstairs right away. We ordered daily special thai spicy mussels- perfectly cooked, perfectly spicy with Thai peppers. For main course, Jambalaya and Roasted pork tenderloin with peach chipotle sauce. Both dishes were absolutely delicious. We've had Jambalaya from all other Carlyle group restaurants, Sweet Water Tavern, Arties, Coastal Flat. By far, this was cooked perfectly. We decided to really go all out and finish our so far perfect night with their special dessert, Lemon Maraign pie. Oh my gosh, it was beautifully prepared and delicious. Our server, Jason was a genuine and professional server. He was courteous and attentive. What a surprise! Definitely coming back. On our way downstairs, we were feeling very lucky as we saw mob of people waiting for tables.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    160
    45
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent, eclectic food! Gorgeous atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Wow - Such Delectable Food! We Loved the Blue Crab Fritters! The Seared Rare Tuna was excellent too. Plates are beautifully presented and the food is fresh and perfectly prepared.
The ambiance is absolutely delightful - especially upstairs. The lighting, colors, design, etc., was truly stunning!
Service was pretty good on this trip but my friend said it had been impeccable on her previous visits. Our server did apologize for forgetting to bring our wine, and explained that he was coaching a new server, and got distracted.
It is a popular place, and the pacing of our meal was a little fast for my taste -- I guess they try to turn tables. However, we were not rushed to leave, and they did offer dessert and coffee before bringing the check.
This had been my first visit, and I do hope to return! What a gem!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Much improved again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

They have the original Manager back that opened the restaurant!
He has made great improvements to bring it back to its top level
They have a mussel appetizer that is on special right now, it is awesome.
Teh wine service has improved and asking you before leaving the bill has been done on our last three visits!
So I am hoping that the improvements last!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
409 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Pretty good food; but service issues interferred”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We've eaten here several times over the years, and the food has generally been good. This visit was no exception. Salads were fresh, creative, and tasty. Main courses were good. The nonflour chocolate waffle dessert was outstanding. The four star rating is based on the food, and that's what counts the most. The bread, which was baked locally and hyped, was oddly not that good. But that's minor.

The service was sloppy and, oddly, excessive. The staff made a mistake (twice!) in meeting a stated allergy need. It wasn't that unusual a request, and two mistakes were inexcusable. Oddly, it didn't seem to be the result of the team approach to service, as each of the three or four servers knew of the special request.

Everyone was apologetic for the mistake, and the problem was fixed. But we must have had 15 or more interactions with waiters and the maitre d'. Even simple things like refilling iced tea took multiple interactions. "Want more iced tea?" and then "We're brewing it fresh; up in a minute". Better service would have produced the tea without comment. All the interactions were disruptive and wearying. It was a case of trying way too hard. Not the worst thing in the world, but unwelcome nevertheless.

In the end, we got a free dessert AND a gift card for our next visit. The dessert was sufficient pennance/compensation. The gift card (which we took and will use) was a bit over the top. And another interaction with the staff, although it's hard to complain about it.

We consider this meal to be a "bad sample" for service. A series of missteps cascaded into excess. Separately, service was a bit slow to get started, but once it did, it never stopped.

If you are a prospective dinner, I suggest you consider our experience an aberration and eat here because the food is good. And the promise of correction for flaws is generally a plus too. We just got too much of a good thing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

this resatuarnt, and all those of the Great American Restaurant Company are excelllet. The sercive is great, and the food options are always delicious. go for the lobster potstickers! although there is sometimes a wait, it is worth it! if you have not been to this restaurnat, I hightly reccomned it for a great dinner experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlyle also viewed

 

Been to Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlyle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.