We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy bread and desserts!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlyle Grand Cafe

Carlyle Grand Cafe
4000 Campbell Avenue, Arlington, VA 22206
703-931-0777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 685 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Washington DC
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Yummy bread and desserts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a fun place with excellent service. I was never without a drink! The salad was good, but the bread basket - YUM! Then, we got the flourless chocolate waffle with ice cream for dessert. It was perfection!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    124
    39
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply Spectacular !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

WOW Wow WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!! This place in the shirlington Village moments from the heart of DC , is amazing, The Blue crab fritters were the most tasty Crab dish We've ever tasted served with a spicy corn relish,out of this world, The soup of the day was a rustic cream of mushroom soup which was outstanding,unlike any other mushroom soup I've ever tasted, on top of that throw in a perfectly cooked Burger topped with Goat Cheese (try it ) it was a perfect dining experience, Excellent service, Overall incredible!!!! if your in the area You must go, You'll be very pleased that you did, Cheers!!!!!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winder, Georgia, USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Food and Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Even though they don't take reservations in advance, we called ahead to tell them there would be five of us. Sunday at noon, in the Arlington, VA area and we didn't have to wait. The menu is diverse and service was excellent. Thanks Michael! If you're in the Shirlington area, you can't go wrong at the Carlyle Grand Cafe.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Unique and wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Carlyle turns out to be exactly the restaurant you picture when you hear the name - old style elegance, art deco elements throughout the decor and terrific service. The food is pretty wonderful, too. I had a warm roast chicken salad, which included dried cranberries, nuts and field greens, with a light sweet vinaigrette dressing. My husband had beef tips and noodles (a special that day). Both were outstanding! We'll definitely want to come again next time we visit Virginia.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Elegant dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Ate here on a Sunday night and they were not busy. Service. food, ambiance were excellent. We had the stuffed fish, a filet mignon, and another fish dish. The choice of breads brought ahead of time was quite nice. Nice quiet atmosphere for a special meal. We would come back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlyle Grand Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Carlyle Grand Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlyle Grand Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.