We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlyle Grand Cafe

Carlyle Grand Cafe
4000 28th St. South, Arlington, VA 22206
703-931-0777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 683 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Winder, Georgia, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Food and Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Even though they don't take reservations in advance, we called ahead to tell them there would be five of us. Sunday at noon, in the Arlington, VA area and we didn't have to wait. The menu is diverse and service was excellent. Thanks Michael! If you're in the Shirlington area, you can't go wrong at the Carlyle Grand Cafe.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    226
    108
    36
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Unique and wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Carlyle turns out to be exactly the restaurant you picture when you hear the name - old style elegance, art deco elements throughout the decor and terrific service. The food is pretty wonderful, too. I had a warm roast chicken salad, which included dried cranberries, nuts and field greens, with a light sweet vinaigrette dressing. My husband had beef tips and noodles (a special that day). Both were outstanding! We'll definitely want to come again next time we visit Virginia.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Elegant dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Ate here on a Sunday night and they were not busy. Service. food, ambiance were excellent. We had the stuffed fish, a filet mignon, and another fish dish. The choice of breads brought ahead of time was quite nice. Nice quiet atmosphere for a special meal. We would come back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Before Theater Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We tried the Carlyle Cafe for a Valentines Dinner treat before the Signature Theater play at 8pm.
The restaurant was unexpectedly very busy with an hour wait at 6pm on a Saturday night. We didn't want to go back out on the street to find another less busy restaurant, since this one had such good reviews. So we waited 10 min for two seats together at the bar. The bar staff was very friendly, while extremely busy. I was amazed at their efficient style. The menu provided a wide range of tastes. We ordered dinner at the bar and it came in a short time. The appetizer was an delicious egg roll and the shrimp salad main course was just excellent. The prices were reasonable, and the atmosphere busy but entertaining. So we even had time for a sweet dessert of chocolate bread pudding. I am so glad we stayed and enjoyed our before-theater treat. The wait staff was very attentive and overflowing with hospitality. I believed they were happy we chose to eat there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What a happy treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We g=have been to the Carlyle on a number of occasions. First of all do not miss their Lobster Bisque. A meal in itsself and the price is right!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlyle Grand Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Carlyle Grand Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlyle Grand Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.