We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlyle

Carlyle
4000 Campbell Avenue, Arlington, VA 22206 (Formerly Carlyle Grand Cafe)
(703) 931-0777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 650 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: High energy, American bistro with seasonal outside dining and year round classic fare. A perennial brunch favorite.
Winder, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Food and Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Even though they don't take reservations in advance, we called ahead to tell them there would be five of us. Sunday at noon, in the Arlington, VA area and we didn't have to wait. The menu is diverse and service was excellent. Thanks Michael! If you're in the Shirlington area, you can't go wrong at the Carlyle Grand Cafe.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    160
    45
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unique and wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Carlyle turns out to be exactly the restaurant you picture when you hear the name - old style elegance, art deco elements throughout the decor and terrific service. The food is pretty wonderful, too. I had a warm roast chicken salad, which included dried cranberries, nuts and field greens, with a light sweet vinaigrette dressing. My husband had beef tips and noodles (a special that day). Both were outstanding! We'll definitely want to come again next time we visit Virginia.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Elegant dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Ate here on a Sunday night and they were not busy. Service. food, ambiance were excellent. We had the stuffed fish, a filet mignon, and another fish dish. The choice of breads brought ahead of time was quite nice. Nice quiet atmosphere for a special meal. We would come back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Before Theater Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We tried the Carlyle Cafe for a Valentines Dinner treat before the Signature Theater play at 8pm.
The restaurant was unexpectedly very busy with an hour wait at 6pm on a Saturday night. We didn't want to go back out on the street to find another less busy restaurant, since this one had such good reviews. So we waited 10 min for two seats together at the bar. The bar staff was very friendly, while extremely busy. I was amazed at their efficient style. The menu provided a wide range of tastes. We ordered dinner at the bar and it came in a short time. The appetizer was an delicious egg roll and the shrimp salad main course was just excellent. The prices were reasonable, and the atmosphere busy but entertaining. So we even had time for a sweet dessert of chocolate bread pudding. I am so glad we stayed and enjoyed our before-theater treat. The wait staff was very attentive and overflowing with hospitality. I believed they were happy we chose to eat there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a happy treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We g=have been to the Carlyle on a number of occasions. First of all do not miss their Lobster Bisque. A meal in itsself and the price is right!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlyle also viewed

 

Been to Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlyle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.