We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a happy treat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlyle

Carlyle
4000 Campbell Avenue, Arlington, VA 22206 (Formerly Carlyle Grand Cafe)
(703) 931-0777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 648 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: High energy, American bistro with seasonal outside dining and year round classic fare. A perennial brunch favorite.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a happy treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We g=have been to the Carlyle on a number of occasions. First of all do not miss their Lobster Bisque. A meal in itsself and the price is right!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    159
    44
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nice restaurant in shirlington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

ther food has always been good very consistant but the bar area seems
to be closed for lunch whenever we are there which doesn't make sense
to me they should have outside tables in the summer

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
157 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Bad front of the house...disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Heard nothing about great things about the Carlyle, good food, great service and great location. However, my friends and I went there on a Saturday night for dinner before a black tie event in DC. Let's say we left disappointed.

With Carlyle, they don't accept reservations, but you can call ahead (30-45 mins prior) and put your name on the list. We called ahead, and majority of group arrived on time. However, the hostess wouldn't sit us until our entire party had arrived (despite the fact I told the hostess our missing member was just parking the vehicle). Once our last guest arrived, I notified the hostess that we were all here; the hostess gave me a pager to told me to wait. I asked how long it would be and she said she would get back with me. 10 mins past and I went back up to inquire. The hostess said "oh, another 20-30" mins. 20 mins passed and we inquired again about our table. Apparently they bumped us down to the bottom of the wait list since we were missing one of our guests (reminder, the missing guest was just parking the car). To say the least, we were upset and asked to speak to the manager. The same lady who checked me in claimed she was the manager but didn't apologize or admit their mistake. Our party so disappointed that we immediately left the restaurant.

I may try the Carlyle again, but will think twice before doing so.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistently great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We eat at Carlyle so often that sometimes we refer to it as out other kitchen! The food is always good but my favorite meal is their crab-cakes. Try their sweet potato fries too, yum! The service has always been excellent too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alstead, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I thought the food was very tasty and the waiter was attentive but not overbearing. I thought of it as pricey but compared to some of the other restaurants in the area I believe it was a good value

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlyle also viewed

 

Been to Carlyle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlyle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.