We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lyon Village Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Italian Store

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Italian Store
3123 Lee Hwy, Lyon Village Center, Arlington, VA 22201-4207
703 528 6266
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 692 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Pizza
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lyon Village Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Convenient, great parking and best Pizza around. Mostly takeout and some groceries and wines Can be very busy at lunchtime, If ordering single slices, skip the lines and go straight to the back for service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    111
    21
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Childhood Memories”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Italian Store reminds me of growing up in an Italian neighborhood in Philadelphia: the products, sandwiches and lunchmeats look and smell wonderful and taste just as good! There are always a huge selection of frozen pastas, sauces and other foods to bring home and heat up. They have a good selection of nicely priced Italian wines as well. And let's not forget about their pizza and cannoli! Yum.

This is not a place to sit and eat a leisurely meal. It's more of a grocery store with a sandwich/deli counter. But well worth it.

My only advice is if you're visiting on a Saturday or Sunday, get there early because the crowds make the wait for food or check-out long. Or, call ahead and place your order so it will be ready when you get there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“NY Italian To Go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you love great Italian food from NY, you will love this place. They have the best sandwiches around. If you stop by to pick something up for lunch go early as the place fills up fast--you take a number and wait on line. In addition to great sandwiches, they have fantastic pizza (NY style) and homemade pasta and sauces. Wonderful selection of cheeses and desserts as well. There is a small outdoor seating area for those who can't wait to get home to eat their delicious delicacies. Enjoy!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I would choose this for my final meal of I knew when I was going to go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've been eating here since they opened at 7 Corners and I've never had a better sandwich...EVER. A Milano on a hard roll is my go to and the pizza rocks too. Now, I'm hungry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Now that's Italian!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Upfront I will say I hail from an Italian New York heritage, how familiar and wonderful it always is to buzz into the Italian Store for some simple, delicious food! The subs, the large pizza slices, the plethora of pastas ... they fit a small deli and grocery nicely into the small space! We have been coming here for nearly 6yrs and highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italian Store also viewed

 

Been to Italian Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Italian Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.