We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sandwiches, SLOW service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Italian Store

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Italian Store
3123 Lee Hwy, Lyon Village Center, Arlington, VA 22201-4207
703 528 6266
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 697 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Pizza
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Arlington, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great sandwiches, SLOW service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Love the food here - but every time I come here I remind myself not to come back. I end up waiting in line FOREVER and something always goes wrong with my order. They really need to figure out a better flow - you can watch the people behind the counter and see how inefficient it is. Still, it's always packed because people love the subs.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    111
    21
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Lunch time is hectic here. I would call in, fax in your order or you may wait a long time to get your sandwich. Busy, busy, busy place. Only a couple of tables to eat at here. Mostly a pick up and go place. It's good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pizza or sub, you can't go wrong here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

As the name indicates, The Italian Store is indeed a store, a very good deli, in fact, but it's also a popular carry-out restaurant. There are a few tables with chairs outside, but don't count on getting a seat. As for the food, your big decision is whether to go with a sub or pizza. You can't go wrong with either. My favorite sandwich is their take on the muffuletta, the best I've tried outside of N'awlins. If I had a complaint, it would be that they sometimes run out of various cuts of meat. Such a problem only attests to their popularity. So go in, grab a number, and be patient. You'll be glad you did.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a must-go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

i'm tempted to tell everyone that this place sucks so that it wont get any more busy than it already is, but i'm italian and i just keep keep this place a secret. it is by far the best place to get a sandwich in the area. the ingredients are fresh and they pile them high. i've never heard of anyone having a bad order here. don't let the nondescript srtip mall location fool you - this place is legit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“#1 for a reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I'm pretty sure this place has been there forever, or as long as I can remember. And it's always been great. Their subs are the best in the area, and if you go in at lunch they have baskets of them made in case you don't want to wait. I've never had anything that wasn't good there. Them being #1 on any food list is an easy call.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italian Store also viewed

 

Been to Italian Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Italian Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.