We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite NOVA sub shop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Italian Store

Italian Store
3123 Lee Hwy, Lyon Village Center, Arlington, VA 22201-4207
703 528 6266
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #1 of 654 restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Pizza
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My favorite NOVA sub shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The Italian store is my absolute favorite sub shop. Whenever I'm in town visiting friends, it is always on the list of places to eat. The Capri on a hard roll is my favorite. The service is organized and efficient especially for such a busy place and the outdoor seating is enjoyable. Enjoy!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    144
    98
    19
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beyond great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Where to start.
Pizza. 5 stars
Ravioli 5 stars
Sandwich. Yum
Great sAuse. Great wine. Great bread. The food here is fresh. It tastes Devine. Anyone will love this place. We are heading over in 15 for lunch and staples. Veggie sandwich today. Pick up some pasta. Dinner tonight. I love this place. Go go go

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmm......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Italian Store fills a void. Their subs range from fine to excellent. The pizza isn't too bad either. All in all if you have a pizza/sub need, the Italian Store will satisfy that need. You'll be happy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Awesome Italian sub sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Always popular but never too busy not to stop, this authentic Italian sub shop is absolutely my favorite quick stop for a meal anywhere in DC. They have some sandwiches already made if you're really in a rush, but why not spend an extra four minutes letting them custom-build your favorite to go? And don't those cookies right in front of the deli meat display counter always look fabulous? My only negative advice is not to get the chicken Parmesan, which they keep frozen and then microwave, without adding any toppings: still good, but not as fresh as their other staples.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bealeton, Virginia
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“NEW TO THE AREA? YOU SIMPLY MUST TRY THE FOOD HERE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Moved here more than a decade ago and whenever I have family / friends visiting from New England I make sure we stop in here a few times. Although many places may claim to have the best pizza & subs - the ITALIAN STORE does! Brought home a pizza and what I didn't know was my wife had already bought a dominos so when I arrived home they had just started eating it. When the smell from my pizza circulated around the room - they descended like vultures! It was gone that quickly - the next day when I went to work they came so we could have lunch together - at the Italian Store...grumbling about the line until they got their food. VERY satisfied after they finished eating, fresh ingredients and made quickly to order hoagies like we had at home. If you want mayo you have to ask because the norm is vinegar/oil/spice combo is great.
The only other place that had a sub even close was a really small sub shop in Ocean City but I can remember it's name but outside the Northeast this it the BEST pizza & subs. You won't be disappointed!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italian Store also viewed

 

Been to Italian Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Italian Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.