We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for a good hoagie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Italian Store

Italian Store
3123 Lee Hwy, Lyon Village Center, Arlington, VA 22201-4207
703 528 6266
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #1 of 654 restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Pizza
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“for a good hoagie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

they have good sandwiches you have to take it out in the summer they have tables outside so you can eat your selection there I like to eat that kind of stuff at the place not bring it home they also have a wide selection of italian groceries but not cheap

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    144
    98
    19
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Take Out Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Italian Store is just what it is, a place where one can shop for anything italian that one might need to make an authentic italian meal. They sell items that you can only get if you are shopping in Italy.You can get the italian dishes already cooked for you or buy the ingrediants to make it yourself.
Let's not forget their freshly made sandwiches. If you come in during the lunch or dinner hours, be prepared for a crowd, ordering fresh deli sandwiches to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love Italian Store subs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Yes, the lines are often long and the service is often far from friendly - but the Italian Store has awesome subs! I usually get the veggie! Yum! Their pizza is also delicious! This is really a take-out place with a half-dozen sidewalk tables. Even so - it's legendary in Arlington! Good selection of wines and Italian specialties too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“BEST PIZZA IN ARLINGTON, VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

You can get a slice or a pie. I like a thinner crust/here, perfect for us, because, it pleases everyone in my family. Great tasting tomato sauce, perfect amount too! ...not acidic or sweet! They give you generous amounts of toppings and you can find great combinations available/menu or even better, make one up. Large pie, two toppings runs about $20. SO WORTH IT! Our favorite is pepperoni & cheese. Simply delicious. We ask them to cut the slices a little smaller, to do half pie toppings...stuff on the side. Each order has been graciously accepted and we have never had them get it wrong...more importantly, we have never had a bad pizza from them. Call ahead to place order, or you may up waiting up to an hour..for a fresh pie. Just walk in for a slice...go straight in, all the way to the last counter on the left. I enjoy taking home their fresh(and frozen available) pre-made single servings of pasta dishes...another favorite. Just make sure to take $$$/cash or credit. Not cheap, but you do get value for your $$$. The french baguettes, cheeses, pastries...all of it, delicous.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Love this place. Small but has a great variety of authentic Italian products. It has a nice wine selection, very good prepared foods. The subs/grinders/hoagies (depending on where you're from) are out of this world. It does get VERY crowded at lunch time so show up early. You can even call in your order. I have been there numerous times and have never been disappointed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italian Store also viewed

 

Been to Italian Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Italian Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.