We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go for happy hour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
2231 Crystal Dr 11th Floor, Arlington, VA 22202-3729
703 979 7275
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 649 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 23rd Street
Transit: Metro: Yellow & Blue Lines, Crystal City Stop
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“go for happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

the bartender needs some polishing, but you get a number of dishes for $7, like the burger, fried lobster tail, and more. cocktails also $7. with beautiful views.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    52
    21
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
722 reviews
466 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
“What an amazing disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

While traveling with a group, we had flight issues and the airlines broke up our group. When the final flight group FINALLY arrived in DC, they had missed most of the activities that the other group got to enjoy. As a consolation, I wanted to take this group of 9 people to a really nice dinner. Because it also happened to be father's day, we had trouble finding a restaurant that would take our reservation. However, Ruth's Chris did. We arrived to the restaurant feeling very travel worn. Despite the fact we arrived a few minutes before our reservation time, we were left standing in the foyer for 35 minutes until they had a table ready. Because of this delay, it was dark outside by the time we were seated which totally defeated the point of picking a restaurant with an amazing view.

Our group ordered steaks and lobsters, but the food was horrible. The lobster was so rubbery that even the waiter commented how bad it was. Those who ordered rare steaks were okay. But for those of us who ordered our steaks well done, it was awful! Two of us had to send our steaks back three times because it was still RED in the middle. By the last time, the outside of the steak was charred, but the inside was STILL red! Inexcusable!!!

We wanted to express our disappointment with the waitstaff, but at this point, none of the waiters were in the room or would make eye contact. The waiter FINALLY came (we had all stopped eating for at least 30 minutes, despite the fact that most of our meals were inedible). They did take the lobster off of the bill. I wanted to alert the management, but at this time, we had to meet up with the rest of our group.

Again... a very, very disappointing experience. I expected so much more from this venue.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My granddaughter and I eat there on our trip to DC. we spent the day in Arlington Va before we left. It was close to the airport so we could get there fairly quick..The view of DC over looking the Airport was beautiful. Though it was a bit pricey.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Maryland
1 review
“Father's Day Failure”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I attended this location for Father's Day and my experience was a total failure! We both ordered the Father's Day special, which was the rib-eye and lobster tails. When our food arrived, both our steaks were overcooked. When we finally got our waiters attention, who failed to check on us throughout the whole service, we told him about our steaks being overcooked and even showed him. Instead of our waiter immediately taking action to fix our order, he instead tried to say how this happened to another table and some crap about the lighting in the kitchen. Needless to say, they fixed us another steak and it was very bland and fatty. I can't believe these were prime cuts of beef!! Will never come back to here again!! BEWARE!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The prices are outrageous ($10 for a baked potato?!), the steaks are mediocre. The view across National airport and towards DC are very nice indeed, the views of the clientele were awful. We went there last night, taking out-of-town visitors who craved a steak. We should have stayed at home. Ruth's Chris is, at best, a meat and potatoes restaurant, and at worst, a meat and potatoes restaurant. There is no dress code whatsoever, and so the attire of the diners ran the gamut from cut off jeans and flip-flops to teeny bopper short tops - on women of a certain age who should not be seen in anything but full cover from the Plus size departments. I left angry - not so much at the tourists, but at the restaurant and its overpriced fare.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.