We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
2231 Crystal Dr 11th Floor, Arlington, VA 22202-3729
703 979 7275
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 691 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 23rd Street
Transit: Metro: Yellow & Blue Lines, Crystal City Stop
Buddina, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I've had lunch here probably 10 times over the past 20 years, both while living in Virginia and again on many return visits. This place has never let me down. The views are spectacular, the service is always good and the New York Strip steak is the best I have had anywhere. The only negative is that the wine has become quite expensive in recent years compared with similar restaurants, but it's still great for special occasions.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    40
    15
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Go for the View - Don't Have to Spend a Lot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I came here on the recommendation of a server at the Crystal City Hyatt who told me about the spectacular views - and she was right! At night you can see the city twinkling below - Reagan Airport, Washington Monument, the Capitol, the Potomac...all there for you to enjoy. I was worried about having to spend a lot of money here but I saw at the bar and enjoyed a glass of red wine and an appetizer that didn't cost very much, but were delicious. The bartenders were both extremely friendly - one making menu recommendations and the other talking sports with a few other patrons and me. The hosts were very friendly as well. I'd definitely return here if in town again. At about 8:00 p.m. on a weekday night there weren't a lot of patrons so it was a quiet atmosphere. There was one small TV a the bar where we were able to catch the baseball playoff game.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great treat, business dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Service is excellent, the steak is absolutely the best I have ever had (beats Morton's, etc.), and a great view at this location. Fixed price menu will keep the bill down - most people order it unless on an expense account, since it is not cheap.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great view decent food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I think you come here for the view or to just eat at a Ruth Chris. We went for lunch with co-workers and the prices were much better then what is charged for their dinner menu. The food was prepared decently but nothing that impressed me or was memorable.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Good Service - Wonderful Views - Very Expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We took our six twenty-something and older-teen kids/girlfriends to this place for a special dinner. The views were wonderful and none of them had seen such a fancy restaurant. We went on December 26th and had a 7PM reservation. Fortunately one entire room next to main dining room where we were seated was completely empty, so they could walk over and stare out the window at the beautiful nighttime views of Washington DC. The bar area has about 3 tables next to the window that have an amazing view of Reagan National Airport allowing one to watch the planes take off and land at night - mesmerizing They all ordered a petit filet mignon for about $37 per person, then we ordered about 5 vegetable side dishes and the 8 of us shared them - plenty of food. We ordered 1 bottle of wine ($65) and one mixed drink for one of them (long Island Iced Tea - $14) and got out of there for less than $500. That is because some of the kids shared a salad and one couple shared the petit filet. The meat was cooked perfectly and the waiter was very attentive and funny. The only complaint we had was my husband's wedge salad was brought out with a 1.5" square chunk of brown iceburg lettuce - that never should have been allowed out of the kitchen. They offered to replace the entire salad, but he was nearly done anyways so declined. If you want to save money at ruth's chris, then order a baked potato with the works $11 and you'll be stuffed. Altogether a memorable meal and I felt it was worth the money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.