We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable food with good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
2231 Crystal Dr 11th Floor, Arlington, VA 22202-3729
703 979 7275
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 650 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 23rd Street
Transit: Metro: Yellow & Blue Lines, Crystal City Stop
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
256 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Reliable food with good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We ate here marine corp marathon weekend with last minute reservations. Our wait staff was very efficient and prompt. The food was delicious as always. They now have a 3 course menu that is very good value. My husband had the lamb chops and enjoyed them too. Though expensive , the service and food are worth it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    52
    21
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food awesome, service subpar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The food at Ruth's Chris is always awesome and this was the first time I ate there in DC. The food was delicious but the service was awful. We were bombarded with 3 waiters in the beginning but then we barely saw anyone. A gentleman next to us said something about he had been going there for 17 years and spending $20,000 and this was the worst service he had ever received. We heard the waiter tell the manager, but the manager never spoke with the gentleman. For the price we pay, they can hire better servers. But the food is very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Planes Trains & Automobiles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I have been here several times. It's easy to over do it as everything is so wonderfully prepared. I've found that a petite fillet (medium), some spuds, a couple glasses of wine and splitting a creme brulee is more than enough to send me home happy without going overboard. We alternate been here and the Tyson's Corner Fleming's when a special dinner is desired. This location, which overlooks Reagan airport, is awesome. There's something special about watching the planes come and go!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

For what purports to be a "high end" restaurant, the place could use a lot of improvement. The greeters, waiters and service are all in the very average category, but you'd expect more from Ruth's Chris and at these prices. The entrees are generally above average, but the side dishes are not. In Arlington (this location) overlooking National Airport, the view is excellent. But there appears to be no dress code whatsoever, so the elegance of the atmosphere and the location is severely diluted by the blue jeans next to your business table. Bottom line, you can get a really good steak, but there are several much better places around Washington to pay a lot for that really good steak. And you don't have to deal with the inconsistencies, even in food, that afflict Ruth's Chris. Go, but go knowing what to expect and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Moo: Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

As Hubby and I live in a high rise condo, there is very limited “grilling” available. I have to cook our steaks in a grill pan, and Hubby has to clean up the mess afterward. Hence, one of the easiest meals to prepare outside is one we like to have out – that is a good steak, done right. And any good Washingtonian knows the place to head is Ruth's Chris Steakhouse – the best view is had at their place in Crystal City, Arlington. Some say Morton’s, some say The Palm, but Ruth's Chris puts a lot of thought into feeding people.

We side-tracked on our way home Friday night to Ruth's Chris. The restaurant in Crystal City is on the top floor of a great office building, facing Washington National Airport. Valet parking is available for $5.

The décor is very steakhouse-meets-comfortable. Comfortable chairs, ample table space. And one thing we really appreciate: The hostess/host showing you to your table notes the color of clothing you have on, and if a dark color, whisks the white napkins off the table and presents a black one. No more leaving with white lint all over black slacks.

The wait staff here is great. They immediately figure out if you just want to be left alone, or if you would like a little verbal give and take. They know their menu very well. Bar staff not only knew what a sloe gin fizz was, but made a good one.

Ok, now the part we really came for: The dead cow. We both started with Caesar salads, then the filet (we have been choosing leaner cuts recently, or else that porterhouse would have been on the table) and a side of what we call onion grass. Thinly sliced onion, dredged in flour and then fried crisp. It was not on the menu, but when I asked our wait staff about it, he assured me the kitchen would be happy to make it. Wow! A kitchen with flexibility. Our steaks were perfectly prepared. Disclaimer here: It comes with melted butter on top, which I had forgotten about. Next time, I’ll ask sans butter, as that was just too much richness for me. There was so much meat for both of us, the remainder of the steaks came home to be many more meals.

It was fun to watch the jets take off and land at National (note I refuse to call it by any other name save its correct name.)

Prices are what would be expected for a steakhouse in a major metro area. If you are in the mood for a good hunk of moo, think Ruth's Chirs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.