We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent Thai food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai In Shirlington

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai In Shirlington
4029 28th St S, Shirlington Village, Arlington, VA 22206-2201
703 931 3203
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 675 restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“excellent Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had a wonderful lunch at Thai in Shirlington. The panang curry was very well flavored as was the chicken with peanut sauce and noodles. The sauces were delicious with multilayers of flavor. And it was all very fresh. Wish I lived closer to sample all the dishes served here. The service was excellent and the ambiance attractive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    34
    32
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Thai I've had yet, great ambiance, reasonable prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Chef is from Thailand. Food presentation was unique, beautiful and food delicious -- the best Thai I've had, yet! Restaurant was located in a small, quaint, tree-light restaurant area of Shirlington, VA that was easy to maneuver, park and a pretty place to walk.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Absolutely my favorite thai restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have never had anything here that I didn't love. When I want thai, this is where I go. I've tried other places in the area and they don't come close. The atmosphere is terrific and the service spot-on.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unexpected Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Decided to order a new dish. I don't recall the name but it was excellent! It had shiitake mushrooms, ginger, with chicken cooked spicy. It was excellent. Nice Decor and in a great location.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always a winner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A friend and I met for a quick dinner in a very crowded Thai Shirlington. The noise level was energetic so we both had to raise our voices when speaking to each other. We decided to share an appetiser and the fried veggie rolls hit the spot! We both also and the Perfect Patay (chicken) -- always a favorite. Since the evening was cool, the Jasmine Tea provided needed welcome warmth. Our server was shadowed by a more senior wait staff but had a very pleasing personality and was a quick learner. Too full to have dessert, we promised ourselves a return visit and soon!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai In Shirlington also viewed

 

Been to Thai In Shirlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai In Shirlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.