We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like Greek, this is the place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athena Pallas

Athena Pallas
556 22nd St S, Arlington, VA 22202-2720
703-521-3870
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 642 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
408 helpful votes 408 helpful votes
“If you like Greek, this is the place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

When we traveled to Athens, Greece, we didn't care for the Greek food that much because it wasn't "Americanized" enough! LOL Here, at Athena Pallas, the Greek food is wonderfully authentic, yet still so Americanized and ever so good.

The service was excellent, drinks always refilled without asking, extra plates presented for each course. But the waiters are Greek, with their dry humor - we love it! For a party of four, we ordered two appetizers: Calamarri (crispy fried squid) and Saganaki (fried and flaming cheese). Both very good. The fresh bread is delivered warm with real butter and replenished when necessary. We ordered one Greek salad (only $6.95) and split it between one couple. It is a BIG salad, not like a side salad, closer to an entree salad - perfect for two persons. We do the same for the entree, ordering one large Greek combination plate ($16.95) and splitting it between two of us...containing spanakopita, moussaka, pastichio, green beans, rice, dolmas. We travel to D.C.only once or twice a year, but the owners somehow remember us (the dreaded cheep-oo's who order a meal and split it!).

We love this quaint Mom & Pop and leave very very FULL without breaking the bank!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    22
    14
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Going Greek @ Crystal City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Athena Pallas is one of the many long term eclectic restaurants on 22nd and 223rd street in the Crystal City Arlington Virgina venue. This is an authentic Greek eatery owned and operated by a Greek family with long standing history of running restarants. Open Monday through Saturday for lunch and dinner, the restaurant offers a full and varied menu of classical Greek fair. The food is well prepared and the wine list is modest but well priced. Our dinner was well prepared and very tasty. Appetizers of both hot and cold variety range from $5.95 to $9.95 - all are classics of Greece. There is a wide selection of traditional Greek food from $11.95 to $18.50 with only their beef offering in the $22.50 range.

This is a strong contender for a good, no frills greek eatery and is worth a walk away from the other more glitzy offerings a few blocks away. I recommend a visit while it is still around as when it leaves it will take with it one of the "old time" plank holders in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Kind of off the beaten path unless you are staying near Regan airport. But, a nice surprise! Not the best Greek food I've ever had but pretty close. Clearly family owned and operated with the personal touch and lots of locals.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Staff is attentive and knowledgable. A very authentic, very fun family Greek experience. Wish I lived in town, it would definitely be one of my regular stops.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The staff at Athena Pallas make sure that your dining experience is first rate. We have been coming here for years and enjoy the personal service, the quiet atmosphere (hard to find in the area) and the excellent food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athena Pallas also viewed

Arlington, VA
Arlington, VA
 

Been to Athena Pallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athena Pallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.