We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for dining!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Athena Pallas

Athena Pallas
556 22nd St S, Arlington, VA 22202-2720
703-521-3870
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 643 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Virginia Beach
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We saw a lot of cars outside this restaurant so decided it must be worth trying. It was a wise choice! Wide variety of Greek food. Prompt service & pleasant servers. Meals were quite generous in amount and very tasty. My meal of veal casarole did not scrimp on the veal; my wife's spinach in filo roll was so large she had to take some along for later. Very reasonable prices. We highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    22
    14
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
allover
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Even the French Fries were perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stumbled upon this little place, behind a newish "main street" in Shirlington last week. We love Greek so we thought we'd give it a try. Wow. Amazing. Taramousalata was astoundingly good. Possibly even better than our favorite at Symposium in Davis, CA. The Tsatziki was perfectly balanced, no one flavor outdoing the others, but fully flavored and delicious. (My mouth is watering just remembering it.) The pita was also perfectly made, and toasted to perfect warmth and crispness.

I had the gyro and my husband had the beef. Both were excellent.

It was so good, we went back the next night for dinner. The prices, which had been average for the DC area for a nice lunch, were a little higher although still reasonable for dinner, but the food remained excellent and the service was wonderful.

I never have fish, but I ordered the fish special and it was fantastic. I tried my husband's lamb and it was perfectly tender and delicious.

I cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough. Just go.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Looking forward to eating at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This restaurant each time we go to DC (twice a year). The food is very good, the service is attentive and the owner visits each table during the course of the evening.It is great Greek food.

We have been eating here ever since our visit to Greece.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Very good food and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is an awesome Greek place with good food and service!
Hard to find but if you like Greek food, you will love this little gem!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed an overnight in Crystal City and walked around the Restaurant area and this place cought our attention. We love greek food but finding a good greek restaurant is not an easy task (particularly when one has been to Athens and know the real deal) This was a surprise! Not only the location and atmosphere are perfect but the food is excellent!!! and genuinely greek! Service was impecable. The owner and a lady (who seemed to be related to him) go above and beyond in their service. This place is a must! You will not regret it! Next time we come back to the Washington DC area, we will DEFINITELY eat here again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athena Pallas also viewed

 

Been to Athena Pallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athena Pallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.