We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lebanese Taverna

Lebanese Taverna
5900 Washington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22205
703-241-8681
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lebanese Taverna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 642 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Lebanese, Greek, Vegetarian, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The original restaurant of Lebanese Taverna, this recently renovated location is a local favorite. Lebanese Taverna serves authentic Middle Eastern fare in a casual yet stylish setting. The menu boasts over 25 appetizers and salads as well as a variety of grilled lamb, beef, chicken and fish entrees. There is a large selection of vegetarian dishes, too. To complement your dining experience, choose from our award-winning wine list or specialty cocktails. The restaurant is child-friendly and great for groups of all sizes.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We ate here twice while visiting the area. The food was flavorful and ample portions at an affordable price. The restaurant and bathroom were very clean. The service was excellent and prompt.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    68
    15
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“An Institution”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

It has been many years since I've eaten in the Arlington location of the Lebanese Taverna. It was a restaurant that could always be counted on to provide an authentic Lebanese mean at a typical Lebanese restaurant. Much has changed. The decor is nice, but not particularly "Lebanese." The service is terrific, much improved! Those typical Lebanese dishes are still to be found in the appetizers and some of the main dishes, but there are others which have a more modern sensibility. Perhaps it just reflects changes in Lebanese cuisine, but I couldn't help but feel a little disappointed. That said, everything I had was delicious a well prepared. The shankleesh, a spiced feta cheese speciality, had perhaps a bit too much chili pepper in it, but the taverna platter with lamb/beef shawarma, hummus, rice and salad was just fine. It is nice place and worth a visit. But I missed the old menu!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Warm and Savory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

You do not need to be adventurous to enjoy flavors of the Lebanese Taverna. We first ate there in the 1980's and still enjoy the freshly baked bread, hummus and savory dishes. Family owned and run, they take pride in their service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good place on Restaurant Row”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife and I had a very good meal here and the service was excellent. My wife ordered the Chef's Platter and I had the Taverna Platter so we could share and sample many different dishes. Everything was great - flavorful without being too spicy. The accompanying bread was also very good and a second basketful was given happily.

The two entrees plus 2 glasses of wine and one parsley/lime freska was $66.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lebanese Taverna Pentagon Row”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I had not been to a Lebanese place before, so this was a first. I was greeted warmly at the door. Wanted to sit outside, but it was filled and a waiting list, so chose inside. Ordered a white wine and a combination sampler dish with lamb. The lamb was good, hummus was great, rice was so so, and vegetable combination was OK. The bread served with the meal was outstanding. Quantity was small. Very pricey!! For the combo plate and two glasses of wine, almost $40. I might try it again and get a meal. The price is a set back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lebanese Taverna also viewed

 
Arlington, VA
 

Been to Lebanese Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lebanese Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.