We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Institution” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lebanese Taverna

Lebanese Taverna
5900 Washington Blvd, Arlington, VA 22205
703-241-8681
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lebanese Taverna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 691 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Lebanese, Middle Eastern, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The original restaurant of Lebanese Taverna, this recently renovated location is a local favorite. Lebanese Taverna serves authentic Middle Eastern fare in a casual yet stylish setting. The menu boasts over 25 appetizers and salads as well as a variety of grilled lamb, beef, chicken and fish entrees. There is a large selection of vegetarian dishes, too. To complement your dining experience, choose from our award-winning wine list or specialty cocktails. The restaurant is child-friendly and great for groups of all sizes.
Falls Church, Virginia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“An Institution”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

It has been many years since I've eaten in the Arlington location of the Lebanese Taverna. It was a restaurant that could always be counted on to provide an authentic Lebanese mean at a typical Lebanese restaurant. Much has changed. The decor is nice, but not particularly "Lebanese." The service is terrific, much improved! Those typical Lebanese dishes are still to be found in the appetizers and some of the main dishes, but there are others which have a more modern sensibility. Perhaps it just reflects changes in Lebanese cuisine, but I couldn't help but feel a little disappointed. That said, everything I had was delicious a well prepared. The shankleesh, a spiced feta cheese speciality, had perhaps a bit too much chili pepper in it, but the taverna platter with lamb/beef shawarma, hummus, rice and salad was just fine. It is nice place and worth a visit. But I missed the old menu!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    66
    13
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Warm and Savory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

You do not need to be adventurous to enjoy flavors of the Lebanese Taverna. We first ate there in the 1980's and still enjoy the freshly baked bread, hummus and savory dishes. Family owned and run, they take pride in their service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Hawaii
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good place on Restaurant Row”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife and I had a very good meal here and the service was excellent. My wife ordered the Chef's Platter and I had the Taverna Platter so we could share and sample many different dishes. Everything was great - flavorful without being too spicy. The accompanying bread was also very good and a second basketful was given happily.

The two entrees plus 2 glasses of wine and one parsley/lime freska was $66.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lebanese Taverna Pentagon Row”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I had not been to a Lebanese place before, so this was a first. I was greeted warmly at the door. Wanted to sit outside, but it was filled and a waiting list, so chose inside. Ordered a white wine and a combination sampler dish with lamb. The lamb was good, hummus was great, rice was so so, and vegetable combination was OK. The bread served with the meal was outstanding. Quantity was small. Very pricey!! For the combo plate and two glasses of wine, almost $40. I might try it again and get a meal. The price is a set back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“So this is Lebanese?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

There's not much that I can add to the reviews that you have except that I don't agree with most. The food is at best average. The chicken dishes seem dried out. The appetizers are the best things on the menu. I wouldn't have returned if we had not been invited to a party there. With a dozen people at a preset dinner, it was a bit more enjoyable. At least we could find something to eat.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lebanese Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Lebanese Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lebanese Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.