We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the chicken is sooo good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Pollo Rico

El Pollo Rico
932 North Kenmore Street, Arlington, VA 22201-2227
703 522 3220
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 640 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican, Peruvian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Munster, Indiana
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“the chicken is sooo good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I am addicted to Pollo Rico. We always carry out, but stop and eat the fries before you hit the road while they're hot. The chicken, roasted on spits, is seasoned just so...

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    70
    26
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“All-around Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

After weeks of noticing the huge lunchtime crowds, my husband and I went to this hole in the wall to try it out. So glad we did. Only grilled chicken (1/4, 1/2 or whole), sides (steak fries, white rice and cole slaw), canned and bottled non-alcoholic drinks and home made Peruvian desserts are on the menu. Super reasonable prices and DELICIOUS char-grilled chicken. The chicken is juicy and flavorful, the skin is crispy and coated in a fantastic spice mixture and its perfectly cooked. Yum. The steak fries are some of the best I've ever had but I'm not sure why - perfectly fried, not greasy, just barely salted. Beware, this is a basic, no frills kind of place, all food comes on plastic plates with plastic utensils, there's lots of square tables and chairs scattered about.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best chicken in the DC area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

There are not too many options here -- a full chicken, a half chicken, or a quarter chicken -- but every bite of their perfectly seasoned Peruvian chicken is delicious. Better than any chicken I had in Peru. The lines can be long in prime periods, but it's worth the wait.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent chicken, decent prices and fast service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Love this place! My children ask for every time we are near Arlington. Its been featured on the food channel too. Its a must stop location. Best Rotessorie chicken around.. They started the rotessotie chicken gas.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eat it to believe it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have eaten at Pollo Rico for years as have our neighbors. Top notch food done in a very casual style. You have to eat it to believe it!! franki

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pollo Rico also viewed

 

Been to El Pollo Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pollo Rico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.