We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Succulent and Juicy Chicken” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Pollo Rico

El Pollo Rico
932 North Kenmore Street, Arlington, VA 22201-2227
703 522 3220
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 676 restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mexican, Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Succulent and Juicy Chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Their menu is simple:
chicken, fries, white rice, coleslaw, 4 desserts and soda/water.

The chicken is spiced wonderfully and the meat is juicy and succulent. The place has a small parking lot and it's packed all the time. I've been here for both lunch and dinner and there are people always waiting in line to get the best chicken in the entire area.

It's the most plain Jane joint you will visit, but the chicken is possible the best I've had anywhere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    101
    59
    24
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansdowne, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Just ok chicken and trashy looking restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The place needs some work, I take that back, A LOT of work. It's filthy, it's like they haven't cleaned it in years! It's really gross. The service was good. Chicken was just okay nothing special. It tasted like chicken you could've gotten at Cosco or BJ's. the line was crazy long though. Not sure what the big deal is! I don't know if I'd go back just for the chicken but I'd go back of my friends wanted to!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best rotisserie chicken in the DC metro area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The chicken was excellent as is always the case. No one spices the birds better or assures more consistent quality in their chicken than this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I tried the chicken on way home from work and was pleasantly surprise how good the chicken was. Great the next day for leftover sandwishes and chicken salad.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, VA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are looking for the best Peruvian chicken in the area, look no further. I work in DC, but we go to Ballston every few weeks to get their chicken. Sides include steak fries and cole slaw, both excellent. If I could eat here every day, I probably would.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pollo Rico also viewed

 

Been to El Pollo Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pollo Rico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.