We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfying meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Pollo Rico

El Pollo Rico
932 North Kenmore Street, Arlington, VA 22201-2227
703 522 3220
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 655 Restaurants in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Peruvian, Pizza, Barbecue, Spanish, Chicken Wings, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
743 reviews
626 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 756 helpful votes
“Very satisfying meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Peruvian roast chicken is extremely flavourful and exceptionally good value. This place attracts customers from all walks of life.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    74
    28
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suburban MD
Level Contributor
102 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Amazing Peruvian Grilled Chicken at a Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This restaurant (and its other branches) has been an institution in our area. They have the best Peruvian Grilled Chicken in the Metro area and I should know because I have tried many of the competitors. They also have an super price for the amount and quality of food. In Arlington, they only serve grilled chicken with two sides (french fried and cole slaw) but it is out of this world. People from the entire area come there for lunch and take out and I often pick up take out dinner to take home. Absolutely great place at a great price.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It isn't just a good value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

For nearly 20 years, El Pollo Rico has been a favorite. I was initially turned on to the place by Phyllis Richman's "top 50 cheap eats" from the Washington Post, and then by a friend who finally got me to go. He pointed out some things that have stuck with me over the years.

Those who patron the place are like a United Nations of people, but the BEST of the United Nations. Many are South Americans (it IS Peruvian chicken place!). They are a beautiful people, rich in culture. There are Chinese Americans, black, white... blue and white collar. There are old, young... people with kids and even grandkids. The parking lot has work trucks, BMWs and even a Honda like mine. I even saw a limo drive up as I was leaving.

But this would mean nothing if the chicken wasn't heavenly. I don't know what they do to draw out so much flavor. It helps with the jalapeno & yellow-hot mustard dipping sauces. The old-time stake cut fries are the perfect way to get every last bit. NO ketchup for the purist here; it would just be evil. Add some coleslaw and an Inca cola, and the magic begins.

I look around me and see men using their forks; but they are with women or family. Then you see the men like me... solo, and they come with clean hands because they know they will be eating with their fingers. And it WILL be a mess, a lovely mess.

I was told that they can easily sell 3,000 chickens in a day. Sometimes on Saturdays, the line will go out of the door (oh... this place was retro-fitted into a convenience store I think. Nothing fancy, but that IS part of it). Price is really low, but don't let that fool you. My thanks to all that work at this store, and I offer a tribute to the years of great work. Thank you, thank you, thank you. YOU are a big part of the reason I return to the D.C. Metro area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap, fresh food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

You can feed two people an enormous amount of food, including char-broiled chicken, for $11.00. Hard to beat that.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This Peruvian charcoal grilled chicken restaurant/takeout is the best! Reviewed by Tony Bourdain, I'm grateful it is convenient for me. If you need an inexpensive, wholesome, well flavored meal (chicken, Fr Fries and cole slaw) this is the place to go!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pollo Rico also viewed

 

Been to El Pollo Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pollo Rico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.