We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in spite of all the pets” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Arlington Ballston

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Arlington Ballston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Arlington Ballston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   650 N. Quincy Street, Arlington, VA 22203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 48 hotels in Arlington
GreenLeadersGold level
North Carolina
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good in spite of all the pets”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Decided to try this property during a recent visit to Arlington.
The hotel seems brand new and the accommodations are very good.
While booking it I did not realize that pets were allowed at this property.
One or twice had to share the elevator with snififng dogs, what was a bit uncomfortable, considering that their ownerers always believe everyone else love dogs sniffing them.
The service was ok with remarks to the breakfast buffet which multiple times had some missing items that were not replenished immediately (e.g. spoons).
The cleaning lady also forgot to replace the popcorn pack in my room for 2 days in a row.
The most disturbing was the AC which would simply stop working and had to be reset multiple times during my stay, even though the repar personnel played with it at one occasion.

Room Tip: A lower floor will allow you to use the stairs avoiding the slow elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Arlington Ballston, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and to let us know of ways that we can create a better experience for our guests. I apologize that the stay was not perfect but I am happy to see that you still had an enjoyable time while with us.

We have reviewed your comments in all departments and have made the necessary adjustments to ensure a pleasant stay for all moving forward.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    23
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
43
11
4
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed at the Residence Inn Ballston for three nights to visit family. As someone who usually visits Arlington once a year, the Westin was my "go-to" hotel, but the new Residence Inn is a strong competitor.

I booked a one bedroom suite for $125 a night, which was a good value. Especially appreciated was the kitchen area, which included a full-sized refrigerator, plates, and silverware. The suite had a large living area and a decent sized bedroom.

I especially enjoyed the complimentary breakfast off the lobby, which included hot dishes (eggs, make-your-own waffles, french toast), breads, fruit, cereal, juices, and coffee. It was nice that the selection rotated a bit each morning. Another bonus was the complementary internet access. The hotel also offers a light dinner Mondays through Wednesdays (too bad I stayed from Thursday to Sunday), but the menus are posted in each suite.

Unfortunately, there were a few downsides: the hotel only had two elevators, so it frequently took a while for one to arrive. Also, the exercise room and pool were both quite small.

Overall, the Residence Inn is a great choice, especially for families or extended-stay travelers. There is an attached garage, and the Ballston metro station (Orange Line) is just a 10-12 minute walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Arlington Ballston, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide a comfortable stay. I apologize that the wait for the elevators was longer than expected and that the size of the fitness center was small. We have two fitness rooms, one for weights and one for cardio which has 9 different machines and there is also a Gold's Gym across the street for anyone looking for a full gym experience.

I appreciate you taking the time to let everyone know of your satisfaction and the entire team is looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 5 stayed here for 6 nights while touring DC from California. It's only been open for a few months, and its just beautiful. Our 2 bedroom suite was spotless, quite large, and very comfortable. The beds and linens (which I am picky about), reminded me of the Hyatt dream beds...high thread count, crisp sheets & extra comfy mattresses. Hotels with breakfast included are a must for my family, and their breakfast didn't disappoint. Lots of choices, refreshed constantly, and terrific staff. Metro is about a 10 min easy walk, so very convenient. Nicest residence inn we've stayed at... It definitely has more of a traditional Marriott hotel lobby.. More upscale than the typical RI. Would not stay anywhere else if our family were to come back to Washington DC!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Arlington Ballston, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
What wonderful review! Our two bedroom suites are ideally situated for a family and I am happy to hear that it met all of your needs. The team works tirelessly to maintain superior cleanliness and exceptional service so it is nice to know that we exceeded all of your expectations. Thank you and we look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Checked in with front desk. Gentleman on duty (Sept. 1st) was very proud of hotel and it showed. Extremely nice. An employee I would be honored to have. Lovely rooms, nice breakfast. Only 4 blocks to Metro.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Arlington Ballston, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
I have passed on your lovely comments to the Guest Service Associate that checked you in and you made his day! We are all proud not only of the hotel, but of the level of service we provide to our guests. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed here 5 nights while on business. The hotel is new and very modern with very spacious rooms. The staff are extremely friendly and always greet the guests when they walk through the lobby. The breakfast has a good selection of hot and cold food that changes daily. Mon-Wed there is an evening social with a hot entree, a salad, a selection of raw veggies, chips, cheese and crackers and dessert. They always have staff to clear the tables when guests are finished eating. These servers are very attentive and always extremely pleasant. There are a lot of restuarants a short walk from the hotel and a grocery store a block away.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms provide a view of the Washington Monument in the distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chico,ca
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

A new hotel with full kitchen. Metro, the mall and multiple restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. Great staff, nice hot breakfast. We've stayed at several hotels in the area to visit our son in the past 5 years and this is the best for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I had originally intended to stay with family when visiting, but my host became ill and I had to use some Marriott points to book this hotel. It was a terrific experience! The one bedroom suite I had was spotless, modern and had (albeit a distant one) a view of the Washington Monument. Staff was great as well.

As one reviewer mentioned, having only two elevators was a drag, but that's my only complaint about this place. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Arlington Ballston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Arlington Ballston

Address: 650 N. Quincy Street, Arlington, VA 22203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 hotels in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Arlington Ballston 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set a pace that suits you at the Residence Inn by Marriott® Arlington Ballston. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, one- and two-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. A fully equipped kitchen ready for your favorite cuisine. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Free Internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. And, two separate fitness centers for strengthening your body and soul. Relax and unwind when you want. And stay focused and productive when it's essential. At the Residence Inn Arlington Ballston, we'll make sure you thrive during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Arlington Ballston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Arlington Ballston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.