We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rus-Uz

Rus-Uz
1000 North Randolph Street, Arlington, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 686 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Russian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Springfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have visited Washington DC for the first time and were looking for Russian restaurant ( I am from Russia). I am so glad we found Rus Uz. We ended up eating there every dinner during our 6 days stay. The food was very tasty. Big portions. Very nice atmosphere: you can come with friends and have a conversation without the loud music. Nice decor reflecting Russian/Uzbek culture but no clutter. Very clean pleasant table settings. It is family owned and they sure take pride in their food. This is not a "fast food place", so give yourself some time and enjoy the experience. If you are in a hurry, you better order To Go. You will not regret. We have tried various dishes, and all were delicious. Entrees come with salads and/or vegetables which are fresh or steamed. And leave yourself some room for dessert. My favorite was Kievskiy cake. We will miss you guys and wish you best of luck!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I just visited RusUz for the first time and I know that I will go back again and again. Having spent several years in the former Soviet Union, this place was a real pleasant surprise and complete revelation. The plov was as good as I've ever had and my wife thoroughly enjoyed her lagmon. Next time we will have to sample the Russian dishes, but based on the strength of the Central Asian dishes, I can only imagine that they are equally delicious. Another sound endorsement of this place is that there was a large Central Asian and Russian contingent enjoying dinner. The service still has some kinks to work out, but otherwise this place nailed it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Delicious Shashlyk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Having been a waitress during my college years, I know one of the worst customer drink order requests is hot tea. And usually it is lukewarm water, a bag of Lipton, and coffee-flavored infused water from the machine. Not the case at Rus Uz! Tea is king here (at least until they get their liquor license) and is done RIGHT. The tea pot - in itself is a work of art - is filled with loose leaf tea and is steeped perfectly. All of this before we even ordered appetizers.

We had meat Piroshki as an appetizer (but think we actually got the Chebureki by accident). Never the less, it was fresh and delicious. Consider the Shashlyk (meat kebab) when looking at the main courses on the menue - the meat was tender and spiced just right. My husband (having spent some time in Uzbekistan) swore he had been transplanted back to the capital city, Tashkent, while eating the accompanying tomato-cucumber salad and lightly boiled vegetables. Although we didn't try it, others raved about the Plov. All and all, it was an excellent meal! We can't wait to go back!

Tip: Even though the address is on Randolph, the entrance is on Fairfax Dr, next to a frame-up shop.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A real treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Having worked our way through a portion of the appetizers and the main courses after a half-dozen visits, we can say with assurance that this place is a keeper !! The caviar tart, the pirozhki, the samsa, and especially the fried chebureki will not disappoint ! Today's smoked fish platter (shared) could have served as our lunch... But we couldn't resist ordering the pelmini and the plov, two favorites...! Last week I had the shashlik (lamb kebob) for the first time and the meat was tender, juicy, well seasoned, and cooked to perfection. The kompot, a juice drink with dried and fresh fruits is sweet, but tasty. Can't wait for them to get their liquor license, but it's not too big a drawback. Haven't yet had room for dessert, so we have to keep going back to get a sense of this part of the repertoire. The borsch is full of authentic flavor! But most of all, the service is attentive and kind, especially for my disabled spouse. Some rough edges have been honed, the decor is more finished, and it's a delight to see things coming together. Friday nights are busy, so call to make a reservation (see the web site with catering details) but be prepared to have a great experience...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Even before the liquor license (due in a few weeks) this new restaurant is worth a visit. We enjoyed the Russian root beer & fruit juice filled w/apricots & cherries. Then moved on to caviar tarts (cream-filled puff pastries topped w/red caviar) which are not to be missed! Plan to share -- one order is 4 big tarts. We also tried the (so-so) borscht, yummy plov (lamb served over delicious rice) and very good beef stroganoff (surprisingly served over fried potatos). Entrees came with fresh chopped raw veggies and a variety of steamed veggies. Very generous portions for each course. No room for dessert this time, but cakes passing by our table looked great. We'll definitely be back to sample more of the menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rus-Uz also viewed

 

Been to Rus-Uz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rus-Uz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.