We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Coffee Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northside Social Coffee and Wine

Northside Social Coffee and Wine
3211 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 32 Coffee & Tea in Arlington
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Coffee Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This places is great if you can actually get a table. Most of the times I've been here I've had to settle for a bar stool, though outdoor seating seems a little bit easier. No matter what time you come in, the place is crowded and there's going to be a line. Northside Social is kind of a yuppie spot that wants to be hipster...lots of artwork by local artists, a minamalist, concrete look, lots of guys with bushy beards and flannel shirts and girls in dark-rimmed glasses. Except you know everyone here works as a contractor or for the federal government or some prestitious non-profit! When I worked in the area I spent a lot of time here. I really liked their lavender cookies and their cappuccinos are good. A little strong, but good! I've had the quiche a few times and found them to be pretty good. They have a wine bar upstairs with pretty decent happy hour prices ($5 for a glass of wine) and overall, I really like the atmosphere. I no longer work in the area and live six or seven miles away so it's been a while since I've come here, but if I lived or worked closer, I'd probably spend a lot of time at Northside Social.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite coffee & pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Skilled baristas serving quality artisanal coffee. Even better bakers preparing exquisite American viennoiserie. Of the many well-researched coffee shops and bakeries I tried on my recent DC visit, Northside Social came out at the top of both categories. Quality was consistent across three visits. The best item is the cherry-almond tart: a delicious blend of nutty and fruity flavors, just sweet enough, in a perfectly-crumbly pastry shell. The milk in the espresso drinks was expertly frothed each time, with perfectly pulled shots.

Atmosphere is remarkably loud, considering most guests are buried in their laptops. The decor is warm, with an emphasis on bare wood. A real gem - and it's only three blocks from the Clarendon metro, and there's a bikeshare kiosk right next to their outdoor seating area.

Some of the reviews here complain of a "rude" and "hipster" staff. It's only hipster if one person wearing a plaid flannel shirt is hipster, and the staff is simply big-city efficient, not rude - in my opinion.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam, Mariana Islands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great coffee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

First time here. I really enjoy the cup of coffee and the pear/cranberry pie. The service was good and fast. However, the place can use a cleaning. Noticed a lot of dust, floor looks dirty.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton, md
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Decent Neighborhood Place, Wouldn't Go Out of My Way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Had a meeting in Arlington so rather than sit in Starbucks and drink commodity coffee, decided to try Northside Social which was nearby. They had three choices of drip coffee: one decaf and then a Papa New Guinea and an Ethiopian coffee. I tried the Ethiopian which wasn't that great. I got a large cup non-takeout, which turned out to be an average sized ceramic mug - not a large almost soup-bowl sized mug that you get from most other places when you are going to sit in the place and drink your coffee.

I didn't get anything to eat, but they seemed to have a wide variety of breakfast sandwiches - but not much of a variety of bakery goods. The place is more of a neighborhood diner (it is right across the street from a Silver Diner) than a coffee shop.

The table I sat at was all wobbly, the chairs weren't very comfortable and the floor was pretty much a mess - not a very enticing place to look at.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Local Coffee and treats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This was our second time here, last time we were in the neighborhood has been about 3 years earlier. Easy public parking around the side, great little sweet treats and FANTASTIC gluten free cookies. Even bought some extras to take home for later. Some would give this a 5 star for the coffee and barrister work with their decorations. Very comfortable social atmosphere with lots of folks on computers using the wife. You can sit outside in the summer. The place to go for coffee, I would skip Starbucks and head here.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northside Social Coffee and Wine also viewed

 

Been to Northside Social Coffee and Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northside Social Coffee and Wine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.