We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but a little rough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Vernon Trail

Mount Vernon Trail
Along Shoreline, Arlington, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 71 things to do in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
pla_orange
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great, but a little rough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Trail is great for jogging and biking. We rode from Mount Vernon up to Alexandria. For that stretch, I was a little surprised at how rough the trail was in sections (roots growing under the trail causing bumps, etc.) I was on a road bike and my friends were on their mountain bikes, and we couldn't decide which was better, which is surprising for a paved trail.

We were glad we were riding north from Mount Vernon, as there are some fairly serious hills (for casual riders) going the other direction as you get near Mount Vernon.

Other than that, it was very nice and details have been covered in other reviews.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    25
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Bike Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

One of the best hiking or biking trails in the Washington area. Great views of monuments, airport, Old Town Alexandria, and other scenery. About 35 miles long(round trip) from Roosevelt Island(Teddy) to Mount Vernon. Great for those who are not in the best of shape, but want photo ops with their exercise.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice alternative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We walked this trail 10/3/2013 at 11am. We started at the Crystal City Water Garden and walked all the down to 4 mile trail to visit an IHOP, which my daughter was craving, and a Target store. I don't know what the distance was it was just a pleasant walk. There were plenty of other users from the casual walkers to the runners and bicyclist. Everyone was mindful of each other and very polite. Thinking about taking this trail over the Potomac tomorrow and seeing whether we can visit any of the memorials.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Joggin routes are excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Did a few runs around Arlington, there are always joggers around and I felt really safe. Lovely trails.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was informative, well thought out, and a fitting place to learn a bit of history about our first president. Plan to spend a full day here and enjoy the entire facility. A good lunch can be purchased in the eating area in the welcome center. . .they also have a restaurant which may have a waiting list on busy days.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Vernon Trail also viewed

 

Been to Mount Vernon Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Vernon Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.