We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but a little rough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Vernon Trail

Mount Vernon Trail
Along Shoreline, Arlington, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 39 Attractions in Arlington
Type: Biking Trails
Attraction Details
pla_orange
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great, but a little rough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Trail is great for jogging and biking. We rode from Mount Vernon up to Alexandria. For that stretch, I was a little surprised at how rough the trail was in sections (roots growing under the trail causing bumps, etc.) I was on a road bike and my friends were on their mountain bikes, and we couldn't decide which was better, which is surprising for a paved trail.

We were glad we were riding north from Mount Vernon, as there are some fairly serious hills (for casual riders) going the other direction as you get near Mount Vernon.

Other than that, it was very nice and details have been covered in other reviews.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    13
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Bike Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

One of the best hiking or biking trails in the Washington area. Great views of monuments, airport, Old Town Alexandria, and other scenery. About 35 miles long(round trip) from Roosevelt Island(Teddy) to Mount Vernon. Great for those who are not in the best of shape, but want photo ops with their exercise.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice alternative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We walked this trail 10/3/2013 at 11am. We started at the Crystal City Water Garden and walked all the down to 4 mile trail to visit an IHOP, which my daughter was craving, and a Target store. I don't know what the distance was it was just a pleasant walk. There were plenty of other users from the casual walkers to the runners and bicyclist. Everyone was mindful of each other and very polite. Thinking about taking this trail over the Potomac tomorrow and seeing whether we can visit any of the memorials.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Joggin routes are excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Did a few runs around Arlington, there are always joggers around and I felt really safe. Lovely trails.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was informative, well thought out, and a fitting place to learn a bit of history about our first president. Plan to spend a full day here and enjoy the entire facility. A good lunch can be purchased in the eating area in the welcome center. . .they also have a restaurant which may have a waiting list on busy days.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Vernon Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Vernon Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.