We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Vernon Trail

Mount Vernon Trail
Along Shoreline, Arlington, VA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 Activities in Arlington
Type: Biking Trails, Sports
Attraction details
Kansas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Walked this trail on 1st trip to DC. Enjoyed watching planes land at Reagan airport and the beautiful views along the PotomacRiver. As stated it does get busy on Week-ends but well worth the time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    14
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice to have this available”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I ran everyday on this trail. Very nice. Paved and well maintained. Couple of places to watch for traffic in the park along with bikes. Can get a little busy at the end of the runway at Reagan. A much better option than the sidewalk or treadmill. It can keep you occupied for several days.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mount Vernon-George Washington's plantation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I'm not sure if Mount Vernon Trail refers to the plantation, but I visited the home and grounds and it is a fantastic place to visit. My tip is to spend an entire day there - too much to see in the 1/2 day I had. The Visitor Center and Museum are fabulous. The house tour is really good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Rhode Island, United States
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Potomac River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great Views of the River and lots of beauty surrounding you. It's a great place to visit.. we went to the George Washington Estate at Mount Vernon and visited the mansion and museum there. It was very educational and beautiful grounds. The kids enjoyed it and so did we.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great way to see the Cherry Blossoms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just returned from a two day trip to DC to see the Cherry Blossoms. My husband and I stayed in Old Town Alexandria and biked the Mount Vernon trail from Jones Point Park to the Tidal Basin. We stayed on Eisenhower Ave, a 5 min drive from Jones Point Park where there was ample parking available to unload bikes and begin the journey. From there we rode along the river and into Old Town, following the marked path along the road either waterfront or a block off the water. We loved seeing the old historic homes and buildings. Traffic was light and very pedestrian/bike friendly. We even stopped to check out some menus on the many fabulous restaurants in Old Town. From there we followed the trail out of Alexandria along the Potomac and over some wetlands. The trail continued for several miles along the Potomac and past beautiful green spaces with delicate weeping willow trees and large areas of daffodils. At times the trail paralleled the parkway, perhaps a bit too closely for me, and continued past the airport. The trail turned back to the river and we were able to look across the Potomac and see the Washington Monument and several memorials. We continued on the trail, crossing over the Memorial bridge that ended at the Lincoln Memorial, and continued our biking around DC, past the White House, down the mall to the Capitol, and back to the Tidal Basin, before returning along the trail to Alexandria. This trip was about 20 miles (about 16-17 round trip from Jones Point Park to Memorial Bridge). I am a middle aged out of condition woman but managed this ride quite well. Perfect spring day and the blossoms were beautiful. Traffic was not heavy on the trail and everyone was extremely courteous with a good mix of polite bikers (who pinged as the approached) and joggers. We did not experience any dangerous riders.. As we reentered Old Town, we noticed a waterfront park and stopped in at the Chart House for a cold beverage on the terrace overlooking the harbor. This morning we drove south on the parkway to Mount Vernon, parked in the lot there by the trail head, and rode the trail for a few miles north toward Alexandria. This half of the trail is a bit more scenic in my opinion as more of it follows the Potomac. There is a bit of a climb close to Mount Vernon, but again, an easy ride. I highly recommend this trail!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Vernon Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Vernon Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.