We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Champps Americana

Champps Americana
1201 S Joyce Street, #C-10, Arlington, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #208 of 693 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: American
Description: 703-414-3601
Restaurant details
Description: 703-414-3601
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

the service was nice and the food was good. we watched the mayweather fight there and we had a great time

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    23
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Desoto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Sat 5/12/12
Group of four of us informed server Bridget that the meal of one of the group was cold she just
shrugged it off no apology or letting the manager know of the complaint.
One of the group forgot their black sport coat. When they returned to get it (35 min later) it had been
soiled with various fluids and mayo etc.
It was bad enough to have the meal spoil our afternoon. The distructive behavior of the Champs staff is of much greater concern.
When the manager was advised of the incident he did offer to have the jacket cleaned. The grease and food dressings on the jacket most likley have ruined it.
Considering the food as well as the behavior of the staff I would advise the public to stay away. There are many good sport bars and restaurants in the area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Smelled and seemed unclean”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

When we visited, the restaurant really smelled bad (like sewer overflow). We should have turned around and left. Ordered drinks which looked good on the menu (mixed drinks) but tasted like juice (little alcohol). Tables were sticky and with that and the bad smell, we wondered about cleanliness. Almost didnt want to eat our food when it arrived.

On the plus side, our server was very nice.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“This could have been a great experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I have been to this restaurant several times. I do not like to give a place a less than stellar review if I have only visited the place once. This restaurant is convenient to several of my clients offices so I frequent it often. I really wish they would step up the training of their servers. I went to a lunch meeting in February and although my lunch was served, my clients lunch was not served until several minutes (about 5 to 7) after mine. I did not want to eat in front of my client although my client insisted. It was very uncomfortable for me and my client. Once my clients lunch was delivered it was wrong and had to be sent back. Of the 10 or so times I have been at this restaurant, the food and portion size is good but they really need to increase the level of training for their servers. So disappointing!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great sports bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I was there for a football match, a lot of big HD TV and was filled with fans of every kind.

Try the Kobe beef sliders, it's great.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champps Americana also viewed

 

Been to Champps Americana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Champps Americana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.