We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a destination in and of itself” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Netherlands Carillon

Netherlands Carillon
Memorial Parkway, Arlington, VA
703-289-2553
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 35 attractions in Arlington
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Attraction Details
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not a destination in and of itself”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The only reason that we saw this was that we were on our way to the Iwo Jima (USMC) memorial. I understand that it was given in gratitude by the Netherlands, but it does not have the same impact of other memorials.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    14
    9
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Renton, Washington
2 reviews
“Worth seeing and hearing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a beautiful gift from the Netherlands to us. It is worth the time to see the carillon as well as hear it. It plays on the 1/2 hour so you don't have to wait a long time to hear and enjoy it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Michigan
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Very Pretty, but you can't go up it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was very impressed with the Netherlands Carillon, it is part of the National Parks system, however, when we went there are stairs that go up to the top but they were locked off. The view to the Monuments with a long lens camera is very awe inspiring.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Top Contributor
677 reviews 677 reviews
178 attraction reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
“interesting structure, beautiful chimes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is visible for those going to Iwo Jima. It looks like a large black structure, but has such a beautiful sound.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsons, West Virginia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Nice Gift from the Dutch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This gift from the Netherlands shows the gratitude they had for the United States liberating their people. It is a touching story.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Netherlands Carillon also viewed

 

Been to Netherlands Carillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Netherlands Carillon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.