We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious-AGAIN!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Curious Grape

The Curious Grape
2900 S. Quincy Street, Shirlington Village, Arlington, VA 22206
+1 703-671-8700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Curious Grape is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 680 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: The Curious Grape is located directly opposite the Shirlington bus terminal on South Quincy Street in Arlington, Virginia.
Description: The destination spot in Shirlington for those with a passion for food and wine, the Curious Grape offers a contemporary seasonal menu of American fare with locally sourced ingredients. Enjoy either full or half portions of selected menu items as well as over 400 wines and 100 craft beers from our store.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious-AGAIN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Not my first time, but equally delicious! Corn & Shrimp Fritters paired with a great Rose. Then Tagliatelle with Crawfish. And a different, great Rose. Excellent, as usual.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    27
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Curious Grape - making great strides in service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We last visited the Curious Grape in March of this year, and were completely underwhelmed with the service. Thanks to a Groupon we decided to take another chance last night. What a difference! The waiter was friendly, efficient, and competent, our food (a pre-fixe pre-theater dinner because we were on a deadline to see a show) came quickly, and the water glasses and drinks were refilled regularly. The food was outstanding, which is actually no change from the past and is what kept us returning in the face of substandard service. Happily, it seems that the management has taken a real interest in getting service up to par. In fact I mentioned our experience to the owner and he confirmed that they are trying hard to improve things. Well done -- we'll be back soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Knowledge staff without the typical pretentious aura that typically surrounds wine-themed restaurants. The selection was fantastic. My wife found several wines that we have since purchased for home consumption. Food was also very delicious (prepare for small portion sizes which is probably the only menu shortcoming for me). Fun fact ... Wine in the store is 20% off on Fridays!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun Restaurant for a Date”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great restaurant with an interesting menu, pairing lovely dishes with wonderful wines. Perfect for a weekend date or a night out with girlfriends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food with bad service and expensive wine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our food uniformly ranked with the best and the priciest we have eaten in the DC metro area. Wine was very expensive. Our Syrah that sells at the winery for $17 was $54. All the wines offered were expensive, which seems strange policy for a restaurant championing wines. Finally, service was slow and inept. Ten minutes after we ordered our wine, the sommelier appeared to tell us our choice was unavailable and helpfully described alternatives. We chose; ten minutes later our wine appeared. Twenty minutes between ordering and imbibing is ridiculous. Our food also meandered to our table,so slowly that numerous waiters kept asking us why we were lingering. When the food came, it was delicious. My 3 star rating is an average of 2 stars for service, 3 stars for expense, and 5 stars for food quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Curious Grape also viewed

 

Been to The Curious Grape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Curious Grape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.