We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing way to end my trip to D.C.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Curious Grape

The Curious Grape
2900 S. Quincy Street, Shirlington Village, Arlington, VA 22206
+1 703-671-8700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Curious Grape is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 685 Restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: The Curious Grape is located directly opposite the Shirlington bus terminal on South Quincy Street in Arlington, Virginia.
Description: The destination spot in Shirlington for those with a passion for food and wine, the Curious Grape offers a contemporary seasonal menu of American fare with locally sourced ingredients. Enjoy either full or half portions of selected menu items as well as over 400 wines and 100 craft beers from our store.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What an amazing way to end my trip to D.C.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have to say from beginning to end this experience was visually extraordinary and tasted even better! I felt like i was in a vineyard somewhere enjoying a lazy Sunday afternoon. We had a train to catch and were on a schedule. The manager, Katie and our server, Katherin, made sure we had plenty of time to eat before ordering our taxi. I never felt rushed, but i really felt taken care of, this is not something I felt in other restaurants that I ate in while in D.C. Everyone would order us a taxi and it would be a 50/50 chance that we would ever actually see the cab.
I have to say... Try the trio of Bloody Marys that they offer at Sunday Brunch, the Asian Mary was my favorite! Even though they don't offer full size bloodies, they made an exception and made me one. Loved the smoked salmon benedict and the greek salad with heirloom tomatoes was true food art! I highly recommend making a stop at the Curious Grape on your next journey to the D.C area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    52
    25
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant/Wine & Cheese Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went to the Curious Grape with friends for brunch and had an outstanding experience -- the atmosphere, service, food, and wine were all fantastic.

The menu lists starters and main courses, along with wine pairing suggestions. (For example, they might indicate that a dish would go best with a medium-bodied white or light red. The menu then presents a corresponding list of wines available by the glass for each category.) Our server was very knowledgeable about the wines and, with a little discussion, recommended the ones she thought we'd enjoy most with our dishes. Best of all, for the few wines we weren't sure about, they brought us tastes. We were extremely pleased with each of the by-the-glass choices that we made.

The food was fantastic -- not your usual brunch fare. Our group began the meal with a selection of starters. The star dish was the wild boar donuts -- shredded wild boar, spiced with hoisin sauce, cilantro and pickled onions, served slider-style in a not-too-sweet donut with a slight dusting of powdered sugar. The combination of savory, spicy, and sweet was outstanding. The fried green tomatoes with bonita (tuna salad) were good but not the table favorite. The tomatoes were perfectly prepped, but the tuna salad on top and the star fruit garnish made for an odd pairing. The third starter that we sampled was an Austrian style pancake with peach, ginger, and sauterne compote. The pancake was great, but the compote was even better. For main courses we had the seared scallops with cheese polenta and smoked bacon, smoked salmon eggs benedict and two variations on a BLT. All were fantastic and perfectly prepared. One friend called the Breakfast BLT (housemade applewood smoked bacon, smoked ham, fried egg, heirloom tomatoes, and garlic aioli on a perfectly toasted baguette) the best breakfast sandwich he'd ever had. (I liked this place so much that I took a photo of the menu so that I could remember all the dishes that we had...)

One other great treat -- the check came with a 10% off coupon for same day purchases from the wine shop -- we could use it for wine, cheese, chocolate or anything else that they sold.

Located in the Village of Shirlington, this place is very convenient to I-395. There is parking on the street and several lots around the "village".

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Quiet on a Sunday night, very pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Tried this restaurant due to the reviews on Trip Advisor, and was not disappointed. Just up the block from the crowded Carlyle Grand Cafe, found this a quiet oasis of good food and good wine. Particularly enjoyed that they offer small and full portions of many dishes and wines, which were not really that small, adequate for most of us. The menu recommends wine pairings with each dish, which is a nice touch. Everyone enjoyed the meal, the person who had the scallops rated them 3/5, the bronzino and chicken were quite good. Since it was rather empty, service was prompt, maybe to the point of a bit intrusive with frequent "check ins" by staff. Will be back and hope to try some of the great sounding deserts next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The ambience is trendy, hip, loud yet quiet areas.
The food is excellent...especially the stuffed squash blossoms.
The service was fabulous as we were seated by the owners who often checked in...the attentive service was definitely deserving of 5 stars.
The wine is served in 2sizes, which is perfect, so you can get a half glass of one and half glass of another, for the same price as a whole glass.. I loved this option!
The desserts were also very good- save room for dessert, even just to taste.
We will definitely be back for more of the food and wine menu

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grundy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sunday brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Altho i had shopped at the wine store years ago, this was my first dining experience at the Grape's swank new space, and it will definitely not be the last. Two friends and I had Sunday brunch last weekend and had an absolutely wonderful experience. The food (salmon eggs Benedict, breakfast BLT, and cheese plate) was delicious, and our server was attentive, informative and helpful. The owner even helped us select a fabulous Cabernet to take home. So excited to hear they are expanding lunch service - we are already planning our next trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Curious Grape also viewed

 

Been to The Curious Grape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Curious Grape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.