We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant/Wine & Cheese Shop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Curious Grape

The Curious Grape
2900 S. Quincy Street, Shirlington Village, Arlington, VA 22206
+1 703-671-8700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Curious Grape is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 675 restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: The Curious Grape is located directly opposite the Shirlington bus terminal on South Quincy Street in Arlington, Virginia.
Description: The destination spot in Shirlington for those with a passion for food and wine, the Curious Grape offers a contemporary seasonal menu of American fare with locally sourced ingredients. Enjoy either full or half portions of selected menu items as well as over 400 wines and 100 craft beers from our store.
Rockville, MD
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant/Wine & Cheese Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went to the Curious Grape with friends for brunch and had an outstanding experience -- the atmosphere, service, food, and wine were all fantastic.

The menu lists starters and main courses, along with wine pairing suggestions. (For example, they might indicate that a dish would go best with a medium-bodied white or light red. The menu then presents a corresponding list of wines available by the glass for each category.) Our server was very knowledgeable about the wines and, with a little discussion, recommended the ones she thought we'd enjoy most with our dishes. Best of all, for the few wines we weren't sure about, they brought us tastes. We were extremely pleased with each of the by-the-glass choices that we made.

The food was fantastic -- not your usual brunch fare. Our group began the meal with a selection of starters. The star dish was the wild boar donuts -- shredded wild boar, spiced with hoisin sauce, cilantro and pickled onions, served slider-style in a not-too-sweet donut with a slight dusting of powdered sugar. The combination of savory, spicy, and sweet was outstanding. The fried green tomatoes with bonita (tuna salad) were good but not the table favorite. The tomatoes were perfectly prepped, but the tuna salad on top and the star fruit garnish made for an odd pairing. The third starter that we sampled was an Austrian style pancake with peach, ginger, and sauterne compote. The pancake was great, but the compote was even better. For main courses we had the seared scallops with cheese polenta and smoked bacon, smoked salmon eggs benedict and two variations on a BLT. All were fantastic and perfectly prepared. One friend called the Breakfast BLT (housemade applewood smoked bacon, smoked ham, fried egg, heirloom tomatoes, and garlic aioli on a perfectly toasted baguette) the best breakfast sandwich he'd ever had. (I liked this place so much that I took a photo of the menu so that I could remember all the dishes that we had...)

One other great treat -- the check came with a 10% off coupon for same day purchases from the wine shop -- we could use it for wine, cheese, chocolate or anything else that they sold.

Located in the Village of Shirlington, this place is very convenient to I-395. There is parking on the street and several lots around the "village".

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    50
    23
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quiet on a Sunday night, very pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Tried this restaurant due to the reviews on Trip Advisor, and was not disappointed. Just up the block from the crowded Carlyle Grand Cafe, found this a quiet oasis of good food and good wine. Particularly enjoyed that they offer small and full portions of many dishes and wines, which were not really that small, adequate for most of us. The menu recommends wine pairings with each dish, which is a nice touch. Everyone enjoyed the meal, the person who had the scallops rated them 3/5, the bronzino and chicken were quite good. Since it was rather empty, service was prompt, maybe to the point of a bit intrusive with frequent "check ins" by staff. Will be back and hope to try some of the great sounding deserts next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The ambience is trendy, hip, loud yet quiet areas.
The food is excellent...especially the stuffed squash blossoms.
The service was fabulous as we were seated by the owners who often checked in...the attentive service was definitely deserving of 5 stars.
The wine is served in 2sizes, which is perfect, so you can get a half glass of one and half glass of another, for the same price as a whole glass.. I loved this option!
The desserts were also very good- save room for dessert, even just to taste.
We will definitely be back for more of the food and wine menu

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grundy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sunday brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Altho i had shopped at the wine store years ago, this was my first dining experience at the Grape's swank new space, and it will definitely not be the last. Two friends and I had Sunday brunch last weekend and had an absolutely wonderful experience. The food (salmon eggs Benedict, breakfast BLT, and cheese plate) was delicious, and our server was attentive, informative and helpful. The owner even helped us select a fabulous Cabernet to take home. So excited to hear they are expanding lunch service - we are already planning our next trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Go to Cheestique in Shirlington-WAAAAY better”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I wish there was not just a 0 star but a 4 thumbs down. I went there with friends for a low key dinner for a friends birthday. It was absolutely AWFUL from beginning to end. It took about an hour and 40 minutes to only get a main dish and not get served the wine we ordered or even a refill of water. Not only did I have to flag down a manager who was refilling other tables' water, but since our glasses went empty and no one had come back since they took our order, I had to go up to the bar and get a bottle of water myself.

That is on top of not even being waited on for drinks or dinner for about 20 minutes and the place wasn't even busy yet. Then our wine never came and I cancelled it at that point., with a manager walking by not even the waiter. The manager seemed disinterested and didn't even try and ask how to resolve or what the issue was. Then we had a manger come by who was walking by the tables and apologize for the delay. Their computers were down earlier but that story didn't seem to fit how it was affecting us since we ordered only one thing each a total of 3 orders and the computers were up. Even if they weren't, kitchens have run on paper tickets. regardless.

I stated that did not excuse the waiter from not bringing our drinks or even checking on us at all, which he had not done. It did not excuse having to flag down a manager who was pouring water for other tables. It did not excuse having to go and get water at the bar. And did not excuse the lateness of getting only one food item a piece.

She apologized and asked what could she do and she offered nothing. She stated that there were 3 mangers on duty, but I feel that they don't even know how to manage (not 1 out of the 3) or support their staff if they couldn't help with the tables and ensure service rather thanjust piss poor apologies.

Lastly, we had to ask a manager for our checks, who once again did not follow through and we had to wait 20 minutes to get a correct check, well not even correct. We had to ask for the check again to another server, and eventually the waiter brought over the check, which was not split as we asked. Then that seemed to be too much to handle. We had to wait for at least 15 minutes for it to be split and even then the check were incorrect, since they offered a 25% discount and we did not receive it.

Nonetheless, this place was WAY UNDER PAR. The food was underwhelming, there service I need not comment on and overall it was very distracting to try and have an enjoyable birthday dinner for a friend when constantly having to ask for basics and even just trying to leave. I will NEVER come here again and I know lots of people in Shirlington and Meetup groups who have patronized here and I will VEHEMENTLY let them know that they should take their business to CHEESETIQUE-THEY ARE EXPONENTIALLY BETTER.

I WILL NEVER RECOMMEND OR COME HERE AGAIN, and after waiting 20 minutes to get an incorrect check I don't think we hsould've even had to pay for any of this horrible experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Curious Grape also viewed

 

Been to The Curious Grape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Curious Grape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.