We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great culinary treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Curious Grape

The Curious Grape
2900 S. Quincy Street, Shirlington Village, Arlington, VA 22206
+1 703-671-8700
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 654 restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: The Curious Grape is located directly opposite the Shirlington bus terminal on South Quincy Street in Arlington, Virginia.
Description: The destination spot in Shirlington for those with a passion for food and wine, the Curious Grape offers a contemporary seasonal menu of American fare with locally sourced ingredients. Enjoy either full or half portions of selected menu items as well as over 400 wines and 100 craft beers from our store.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great culinary treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I wouldn't have thought to look to Shrilington for upscale dining, but foung the Curious Grape to exceed my expectations.

It is a neighborhood wine bar and restaurant with a Euro cafe/deli feel to the front and a modern atmoshpere toward the rear.

The food was delicious and the service was absolutely excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    46
    18
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Village of Shirlington has many fine restaurants, and the Curious Grape fits right in. Any restaurant that can get me to eat Brussels sprouts has something going for it. Being able to scale food and wine portions is quite helpful and economical. The kitchen is maturing, the wait staff is helpful and well trained, wine offerings are extensive, and the atmosphere is welcoming. Nice combination. The owners will probably stop by your table to check on things and are quite receptive to any comments/questions you offer. The Curious Grape has serious competition from its neighboring venues, but seems to be settling in to its own personality.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Neighborhood wine bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We live up the hill and go to this place pretty regularly. The wine list is rotating and has wines by the half and full glass in case you don't want to commit. They also have a pretty good selection of beers on tap, so they cater to all tastes. The food here is fantastic and seasonal. We've had dinner and brunch, as well as many snacks. Great cheeses too. My only complaint is that it's a little expensive. We tend to stop by for a wine and cheese because it's a bit pricey to eat there all the time. They have been getting packed lately, so reservations might be worth it on the weekend evenings.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service is abysmal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We dined here on Saturday night, party of 4. We had a reservation for 7:00pm and arrived about 7 minutes early. Although there were plenty of tables available, we were told that we could not be seated until exactly 7:00pm, which was very strange and no one seemed to be able explain why this was so. After we were seated, it was explained that this place used to be a wine store only, but that it was converted to a restaurant so that they could pair good food with good wine. Nice concept, but it was ill-conceived. The problem is that, because the kitchen was an afterthought, it is EXTREMELY SMALL for the number of tables in the restaurant. This is a major problem because the kitchen absolutely can not keep up with the number of tables on a busy Saturday night. For example, it took nearly 45 minutes to get our appetizers. Then, it took an additional 1.5 hours to get our entrees. 1.5 hours!!!!!!!!! This is not an exaggeration. The kitchen was completely overwhelmed and when we glanced around the restaurant absolutely no one had food on their tables and everyone looked starved. I can't stress how TERRIBLY SLOW the kitchen is. That said, the food is quite good and our server was very nice and knowledgeable and apologized profusely for the slow service. It wasn't his fault - we realized that. We will NOT go back here until they improve their kitchen. We have NEVER experienced wait times like this after patronizing restaurants in the DC area for over 13 years. Will not return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Simmer Down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Decent food in a wine shop. Carlyle Grand down the block is far superior. Average. Currently overrated.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Curious Grape also viewed

 

Been to The Curious Grape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Curious Grape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added The Curious Grape to your Saves list