We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but chilly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Curious Grape

The Curious Grape
2900 S. Quincy Street, Shirlington Village, Arlington, VA 22206
+1 703-671-8700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Curious Grape is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 675 restaurants in Arlington
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: The Curious Grape is located directly opposite the Shirlington bus terminal on South Quincy Street in Arlington, Virginia.
Description: The destination spot in Shirlington for those with a passion for food and wine, the Curious Grape offers a contemporary seasonal menu of American fare with locally sourced ingredients. Enjoy either full or half portions of selected menu items as well as over 400 wines and 100 craft beers from our store.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good but chilly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Food was good, nice selection, well cooked, and nicely presented. Portions are on the small side, and the only problem was that the room temperature made us want to wear our coats when we were eating.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    49
    23
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Shirlington Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

it is more than a neighborhood gen, fits price range of everyone, as small plates are offered s well as full menu items that change regularly. A variety of wines and beers by the glass are available, and a wonderful retail shop with cheeses several dollars cheaper than the cheese shop down the street. The ownes and staff make an effort to get to know every customer. A wonderful addition to Shirlington, and frankly, it's only ten minutes from DC on I-395 South.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“The New Kid on the Block in Shirlington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Another restaurant has opened its doors in the Village of Shirlington! It is a welcome addition with its focus on pairing good wine with very good food. The menu is lilmited but interesting with a creative touch to appetizers, soups, salads, entrees and desserts. The entrees come in two sizes so there is opportunity to create a meal with three to four courses and not feel "stuffed." The wine pairings are very interesting with a broad selection for coupling with each main course. The wait staff is attentive and knowledgeable, particularly in making suggestions about these pairings. A recent addition is a 10% off coupon that comes with the check, an encouragement to shop in the wine section for a bottle to take home. Your foray into the back part of the restaurant will allow you to discover what many Arlington folks already know -- The Curious Grape has been renown for a number of years as a high quality wine store with an extensive inventory. Their new restaurant clearly builds on that tradition.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband and I have twice thoroughly enjoyed our dinners there. All the food is interesting, well-prepared and presented, and was the right portion size. Of course the wines they offer with the meals are excellent also. The service at times seemed just a bit rushed, but was very friendly. The place has been busy but not too loud.
I actually like their wine selection and layout less than in the old shop, but the restaurant is a great addition.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband and I went to The Curious Grape for brunch after seeing it rated as one of the top ten restaurants in the area. The restaurant was curiously not packed. I thought that, because of its recent high rating and then after eating brunch I was even more curious why the restaurant why more people weren't dining there. We both started with the mini pastry selection - five different pastries, all fresh and tasty. I tried the butternut squash soufflee, perfectly cooked. My husband was a bit more hungry so he ordered the spice-roasted chicken with mascarpone spaetzle, chanterelle mushrooms and smoked paprika. We ate there probably three weeks ago,and he still maintains that was the best chicken he has ever eaten. We are going back there soon for dinner, their dessert menu has listed "frozen mimosa mousse with sparkling snow" - I must try it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Curious Grape also viewed

 

Been to The Curious Grape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Curious Grape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.