We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Clean Comfortable Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1333 North Courthouse Road, Arlington, VA 22201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 25%
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Clean Comfortable Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed here for three nights with husband.

Pros:
--Friendly staff-- In particular, Ms. Linda, who worked during the day, was outstanding. She smiled, was prompt in addressing a request for a feather free room, and was cheerful in each interaction we had. Also, Mr. Serry, who worked at night, was excellent. We requested a late check out, and he promptly arranged that. He also was professional and upbeat in our interactions. Reserving online, check in and check out were easy.
--Location-- the hotel is less than a 5 minute walk to the Courthouse metro stop on the orange line. From there, it's just one stop to Rosslyn. We got off at Rosslyn, strolled across the bridge, and were in the Georgetown shops, where we bought a half dozen cupcakes. From Courthouse, it's an easy metro ride to Farragut Wesr metro stop-- from there, it's an easy stroll to the White House, the DAR and Constitution Hall. From the hotel, in 5 minutes you can walk to the Bayou Bakery, where you can buy a bacon, egg and cheese breakfast biscuit and beignets with locally sourced ingredients, sweets, coffees, and sandwiches. In 5 minutes you can also walk to TNR-- a Chinese restaurant with excellent Chinese-American food, authentic Chinese food, and bubble tea. There is a US Post Office next door too, for buying stamps and sending postcards.
--At the front desk counter, in the morning, there is a bowl of fresh whole fruit- bananas, oranges, and apples- that guests can select from, at no charge. There are tootsie pops also. In the evenings there are complimentary cookies. And all day and night there is a water/coffee/tea station, which is thoughtful and practical before or after a long day of sightseeing.
--Bed is comfortable. Bedding is simple but soft and clean. No harsh colors in the room. A large desk is useful. Maid service is excellent.

Cons:
-- How about complimentary chocolate chip cookies at the front desk, instead of those other flavors?
-- One morning the complimentary hot water carafe was empty, and we were in a rush, so we walked out without.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
What an incredible review. We're very happy you enjoyed your stay and, yes, Linda is a pretty awesome team member. We're very proud of her. Sorry about the hot water but next time just let us know and we'll get more...we'll also keep a closer eye on it for the future.
Thanks for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    247
    67
    30
    17
See reviews for
167
134
58
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Rooms have a smell of oranges from air freshner that is over powering. Can't open windows to get fresh air into the room. A/C system also does not bring in sufficient outside air. Staff did change room for me. On all my stays here the rooms have been clean. Would appreciate if smokers were not allowed to stand right by the front door.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Rodney I apologize about the air freshener and I am also disappointed that we did not move you immediately when you mentioned it.
I have spoken to both Housekeeping and the Front Desk and counseled them so their responses will be immediate in the future.
Thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We have spent the last two weeks staying at the Hilton Garden Inn while we ran two weekend events here. We travel a lot and stay in a lot of hotels and this staff takes the prize for the friendliest we've encountered. They always have a smile and a kind word. Even when the lines are ling they still notice you and offer a hello. Our housekeeper even made us special little sculptures out of towels in the bathroom. Any request was cheerfully met with a sincere desire to help.

The only things that kept this from being a 5-circle rating was the restaurant which was very unfriendly to me being gluten-free. It was such a shift in culture from the rest of the hotel that we literally asked if the restaurant was run by an outside vendor. (It wasn't.)

The other issue was that the room we chose for our event (the gavel room) didn't have a key card. Instead it was an actual key which they wouldn't give us a copy of. This meant that in the morning and evening and at lunch we had to track down a hotel employee to open and lock the room. They were always quick to come, but it was an added hassle. And in the mornings we sometimes found the room open before we arrived leaving all of our stuff unattended which given that there were a TON of people in the hotel that weekend, was a security concern for us (although to be fair nothing actually went missing).

Still, given it all, we would happily come back and recommend it to you.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you and, yes, we have a truly great staff.

I spoke to the reataurant staff because we really do have gluten free, vegetarian, and vegan choices and I'm sorry that no one took the time to fulfill your needs there.

It will noy happen the next time, I promise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here, and loved it! Really! The hotel is located right next to a movie theater, the Metro, and lots of stores and restaurants. Everything was in walking distance....drug stores, pubs....really nice location. Only 3 to 6 miles from the White House and State Capital also....easy access via the Metro located near the hotel. The hotel is really clean, and up to date. The staff was friendly, and extremely helpful. If I ever come back to the D.C. area, I will stay here again for sure. Thank you so much Hilton!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. We're really happy that you loved your stay. Hope we see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The hotel was beautiful. The ammenities were great and it was in walking distance of the entire business district. The restaurant and bar served an excellent choice of fare and libation. Breakfast was made to order and well prepared.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for a great review! Yes, we are indeed located within walking distance of forty (40) restaurants and attractions and only a block and a half away from the Metro station.
We're really glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Very good staff and maintenance. issues with heating system (controls and noise) and TV (erratic reception on some channels) were never fixed in six days despite stff efforts. Excellent location for Arlington Cemetery and generally convenient for Washington attractions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
I am so sorry to hear about the problems you had with your television while you with us. I have finally gotten the challenges settled (it was the construction next door) so I am glad you pointed them out to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Close to metro, great stay!! Would visit each and everytime I am in the area! Staff was over the top and helpful!! Rooms were clean, everything was in tip top shape. Rest prices may have been a bit steep for breakfast and have to pay for parking but it is cheaper at this hotel than most at $14.00 a day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for the enthusiastic response. We love it when our guests have a great time! You know this means you HAVE to come back again soon? See you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza

Address: 1333 North Courthouse Road, Arlington, VA 22201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Arlington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#19 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza Hotel Arlington
Arlington Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.