We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of toilet seats” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1333 North Courthouse Road, Arlington, VA 22201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 25%
Ranked #11 of 47 hotels in Arlington
Buffalo, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beware of toilet seats”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Use of the toilet in the room resulted in burns on both legs. From onset of incident, the staff listened empathetically yet did not follow through on incident report, request to GM for a phone reply, and no offer of satisfaction guarantee option. Very disappointing. The AC did not turn off or have temperature control.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
I am truly sorry you experienced challenges during your stay with us. From all of the recaps I read from all the people with whom you spoke, you were more than satisfied with the resolution. If that is not the case, please reach out to me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    215
    57
    31
    14
See reviews for
154
118
50
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valdosta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

First off the hotel is ok, but as other reviewers state it's nothing spectacular (Two years of awards not withstanding). Our room's ac (517) struggled to keep the room cool and the weather during our stay was only in the mid 80's (July 11-13). Hallways were like a sauna. Parking is very tight. We had a three day reservation, and our plans changed. I spoke with a desk clerk on Thursday night and was told it should not be a problem. When leaving on Saturday I was told by the desk clerk that we would have to pay through Sunday, that once a reservation is made there are no refunds. I didn't see that on the website. I have stayed hundreds of nights at many, many Hilton properties over the years and never been made to feel that my concerns were less important than I was here. I spoke with the on duty manager Karan Alzaro and she stated that she would take care of the issue. Well, I'm still waiting.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevator are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
I just read your feedback form and I am alarmed to hear about the a/c and the challenge you faced cutting your stay short.
I am sure Karam took care of you but I would need your name so I can double check. Please give me a call at your earliest convenience and I will see if i can help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel at one time was very good, I had stayed there back in '07 and had a good stay. Rooms are average, but with comfortable beds. The a/c unit in our room struggled to keep the room comfortable. I had a problem that I spoke to a desk clerk about and was assured was handled. It wasn't. When checking out the desk clerk was rude and un-helpful. I spoke with the manager who in a very brief and dismissive way told me she would correct a billing issue "after" I left. My mistake - I should never have left because she never addressed the issue. There are much better choices in Arlington - stay away!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
I am so very sorry to hear how badly we let you down. I am especially curious to hear more about your interaction with the FD because rudeness/abruptness is something I do not tolerate.
I am available to you anytime you wish to speak to me and I look forward to your call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Staying in Arlington rather than the District can have distinct advantages. The Hilton Garden is situated a couple of blocks from the Metro by Courthouse and is a real gem. Lots of eateries of every price level nearby and a very friendly, efficient staff. One minor A/C problem was fixed almost before I got back to my room from working out. Very clean and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
An absolutely wonderful review. How very kind of you to take the time. Thank you for pointing out that we are so close to everything you could need in Arlington. I'm also very happy that we remedied the problem with your a/c to your satisfaction. I know this means we'll see you again and I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights in the hotel to attend a work event. DC hotels can be extremely expensive. I tend to stay in Arlington in general because it is away from the touristy area, but still easily accessible by metro.
The staff was very friendly upon welcoming us to the hotel. The evening front desk man gave us some great tips for restaurants in the area. And the day time front desk woman gave us some tips about using the metro.
The metro stop is really close. On Saturday mornings there is a great farmers market and flea market between the hotel and metro stop.
The room itself was clean and spacious, more than I had expected for the price. The hallways were definitely hot, but my AC worked fine.
I would stay here again, between the price, the location and the staff, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Outstanding. Thank you for remembering Carmichael. He leads by example and his staff enjoys working with him as much as our guests do. I will be happy to pass on your kudos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very clean hotel with a accommodating front desk staff. Beds are comfortable. Our only complaint was the parking garage - it was a little tight and fills up quickly (they still had 2 places so we did not ask about alternative parking.) Metro is within walking distance, as are several restaurants. Good buy for the. Price that we paid on Priceline.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
What a nice review. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. We will keep trying to get better and every bit of encouragement helps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The staff was awesome, especially Carmichael. He always had a smile (matter of fact everyone did). Every time we left or came back we were greeted. Nice lobby and the rooms were a good size. We were able to walk to the Iwo Jima memorial and watch 4th of July fireworks. Close to the metro and plenty of restaurants around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful words. I will definitely let Carmichael know that his efforts were appreciated and we will look for you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza

Address: 1333 North Courthouse Road, Arlington, VA 22201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#10 Business Hotel in Arlington
#12 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza Hotel Arlington
Arlington Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.