We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best place to stay in DC area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1333 North Courthouse Road, Arlington, VA 22201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 25%
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not the best place to stay in DC area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The reserved room was not ready (after 3 pm.)
The second room did not have TV and phone working.
The third room was OK, but the AC was not working properly, leaving musty smell.
Overall, the hotel is very tired.
However, the front desk staff was efficient and friendly. Location is good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
After a $6 million floor-to-ceiling renovation and a streling rating on this site, I don't think we qualify as "tired" and i truly wish you had reached out to me or one of our supervisors so we caould have fixed your challeneges but...should you ever venture into the Arlington, give me a call and we'll see if we can't show you what we're really like.
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    234
    65
    30
    17
See reviews for
164
127
57
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

There's nothing particularly wrong with this hotel, but it's not great. It is just satisfactory. My room was in satisfactory shape, albeit starting to show its age -- due for a refresh within the next few years, I would say. Nicely furnished and laid out rooms. I had a rather comfortable two-seater couch, and a good sized desk.

I stayed on a Sunday night and had a weekend rate, which was a great value, especially for the area, and for a hotel so close to the metro. However, for Monday night and onward the rate more-than-doubled, at which point this hotel is severely out-classed by other nearby options in the price range, essentially making it a terrible value.

Great for a weekend stay. Very highly recommended if you do business in the area, get in on Sunday, and leave Monday night, since you can still get that weekend rate.

During the week though? Give this one a pass. You can do better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
I am so sorry you feel that way about our hotel especially since we rank above every other hotel in the area on this very website and also given that we just received our second Award of Excellence too. It is a shame but we thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

I called the hotel upon arrival at the airport for directions. Tamisha was vary helpful and gave us detailed metro directions. Having never taken this her directions were spot on without us having to wory. When we arrived we were informed my reservations were for the Shirlington, a few miles away and its a common mix up.
Walking from the metro we loved this hotels location with the metro being so close and the dining around the area. I asked if there was any way to get us in. Tamisha did find a room for us and honored the booked rate. Her and Ernest were very helpful and attentive throughout our stay. Great service like this is hard to come by and they really made our experience great. Yes the hotel was clean and and convenient, but the great hospitality those two provided wanted me to give this place a 10!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you so much. Our agents really do enjoy showing our cities off and since we're within walking distance of so many things, we're happy to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Location great being it's near a Metro Station. The hotel was very clean! The staff was very friendly and very helpful when I asked them for information. Our daughter lives two blocks away so will very likely stay there again. Our room was very quiet and the bed was very comfortable. We did not try the restaurant so can't critique it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
With a review like this, we would love to have you as a guest again. It was a great to hear that you had a good time. Makes us proud! Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We are 3 couples who became the best of friends while stationed with the USAF almost 45 years ago in W. Germany! Meeting in Arlington, VA. and staying at this Hilton was the perfect choice, as we were spending Memorial Day weekend together touring the Wahington DC area. The location was very close to a Metro stop, a number of casual or fine dining restaurants. The hotel itself was comfortable, clean and accommodating in every way. If you are an HH member you are greeted as such and get breakfast coupons and bottles of water at check-in. We found the staff friendly, courteous and always willing to assist. For family, reunions, weddings or any other gathering, this property would be an excellent choice. ML

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and a great review. Make sure to tell a friend and we'll take great care of them too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The room is very spacious, dark and quiet. Free Wi-Fi, microwave and mini-fridge. Breakfast was not included but there was frequently a fruit basket on lobby desk and fresh baked cookies in the afternoon. Very convenient to metro station. Staff was very professional, friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We're so very glad you enjoyed yourself and our hotel. We've got the very best location (walking distance to 40 restaurants and shops plus the Metro) in all of Arlington and we love to hear from people who had a great time.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Everything was good and met my expectations except for my check-out process. The staff was friendly and greeted me by name every time I walked through the lobby, as well as asked if I needed anything. The hotel and rooms were very clean. It had all the amenities I needed and was a great location for conducting my business/work. Oh yeah, the complimentary evening cookies we delicious!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
i am sorry to hear you had challenges at check out. I hope you weren't in a hurry. if you have a moment, please give me a call and let me know about it so I can use it as a teaching moment.
Thanks for letting me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza

Address: 1333 North Courthouse Road, Arlington, VA 22201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Arlington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#19 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza Hotel Arlington
Arlington Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Arlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Arlington Courthouse Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.