We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must for Lovers of Musicals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Signature Theatre

Signature Theatre
4200 Campbell Avenue, Arlington, VA 22206
(703) 820-9771
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 25 Activities in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Theaters, Theater & Concerts
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Must for Lovers of Musicals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

One of our absolute favorite theater destinations in the Washington area. We have frequented their productions for almost all of their 25 year history. If you love musicals, you must visit Signature. Sondheim is a staple but so is the development of new work.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    17
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Love Signature Theatre - it is in a great location and I have yet to sit in a bad seat. I bought a three show subscription for my parents (who are in their late 80's) and they loved it. The shows were for Sunday matinee's and they were able to go to nearby resturants after for early dinner.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“New and Classic Musicals and Plays in an Intimate setting ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Now in its 25th Season, I've been experiencing Signature about that amount of time as I am a Sondheim addict and they have approached almost all of his works in that time. Currently even though I live in CT I subscribe to a 4 show series and plan long weekends in the area around the shows. The box office staff are helpful when I need to exchange tickets and just this past weekend staffer Bob made sure
my exchange was to my liking as I was originally slated to have an obstructed view seat. The quality of the productions are always first class and two recent shows Diner and Beaches are rumored as Broadway bound.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Don't Bother Unless You Like Getting Your Car Towed Away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

The last time we went to a show at Signature Theater we parked in the nearby parking garage per Signature Theater directions & after the show we discovered that our car had towed away! It cost us $140 + cab fare + an extra 2 hrs to get home!

When we and the four other couples who had their cars towed as well complained to the box office staff, all we got was a "Well, what do you want us to do about it? Guess you were parked where you shouldn't have parked. Sorry, there's nothing we can do about it."

To add insult to injury, our family had recently completed a 5-yr pledge donation to the theater -- but we've never been back since and never will!

There are far better theaters in the Northern Virginia/DC/Maryland metro area! To name just a few, try instead:

1. Synetic Theater in Crystal City (Arlington)
2. Metro Stage (Alexandria)
3. Little Theater of Alexandria
4. Ford's Theater (DC)
5. Folger Theater at the Folger Shakespeare Library (DC)
6. The Keegan Theater (DC)
7. Round House Theater (Bethesda, MD)

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We have a subscription to the Signature, even though we live in New york City.

We were drawn to a production of a show we love ("Side Show") back in early 2001, and made a special trip to see it.

We were pleased and surprised by the professionalism and talent displayed, and became subscribers. We usually take a three or four show package each season, and craft long weekends around performances we want to see.

This past trip we saw a musical version of "Elmer Gantry", and a production of a show called "Sex With Strangers" which had been produced earlier this year in New York.

A musical version of "Diner", by Sheryl Crow and Barry Levinson (based on Levinson's movie from 1982) is coming up after the new year.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Signature Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Signature Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Signature Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.