We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Theater” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Signature Theatre

Signature Theatre
4200 Campbell Avenue, Arlington, VA 22206
(703) 820-9771
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 28 Attractions in Arlington
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We have a subscription to the Signature, even though we live in New york City.

We were drawn to a production of a show we love ("Side Show") back in early 2001, and made a special trip to see it.

We were pleased and surprised by the professionalism and talent displayed, and became subscribers. We usually take a three or four show package each season, and craft long weekends around performances we want to see.

This past trip we saw a musical version of "Elmer Gantry", and a production of a show called "Sex With Strangers" which had been produced earlier this year in New York.

A musical version of "Diner", by Sheryl Crow and Barry Levinson (based on Levinson's movie from 1982) is coming up after the new year.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    16
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Not an elegant place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

You'd think from the prices of the tickets that you'd be watching a play or musical in a more elegant setting. The theater itself looks shabby with an industrial look. It seems the lobby space and the bathroom was updated but not the theater itself. Time to modernize.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernalillo, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Signature Sisters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

It was advertised as an Andrews Sisters style cabaret. It was pricey for only 13 songs and one encore. We really enjoyed the singing, but again, $72 for a couple for only one hour was disappointing.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
588 reviews 588 reviews
247 attraction reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
358 helpful votes 358 helpful votes
“A GOOD LOCAL THEATER COMPANY ~ERIC SCHAEFFER MAKES IT SHINE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Thr Signature Theater in Shirlington, Va is a good solid local theater company. It will not displace Broadway and other major venues but it is an enjoyable theater with good plays and musicals performed by actors who have played on Broadway and other major theater locations in the U.S. We have seen performances such as Dream Girls, Elmer Gantry, and various Sondheim hit productions.

The theatrical director is Eric Schaeffer who has directed many plays here and took the Tony best musical The Million Dollar Quarter straight to Broadway where it is has been playing for at least 4 years now.

Give is a try!

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

We've lived in the area for years, but this was our first visit here. We had a very difficult time finding a place to park. We found the theatre 20 minutes before the performance, but after searching for parking, we got to the theatre 2 minutes ahead. All parking was either filled or reserved. We finally found a spot a few blocks away. Another time, I think I'd come a couple hours early and have dinner close-by. There are lots of restaurants and shops surrounding the theatre. This is a small theatre, and our seats were great. The show was very good, and the costumes were lovely.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Signature Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Signature Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Signature Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.