We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great theater company” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Signature Theatre

Signature Theatre
4200 Campbell Avenue, Arlington, VA 22206
(703) 820-9771
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 60 things to do in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
220 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A great theater company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We feel blessed to have such a great theater so close to our home. As subscribers we have seen every production since Signature moved into its new home in Shirlington in 2007. It's Artistic Director, Eric Schaeffer is a genius with a special talent for musicals. His recent production of Miss Saigon (which I had disliked since seeing a bloated production at the Kennedy Center) was both beautiful musically and dramatically sensitive. The upcoming The Pride in the Falls of Autrey Mill will be directed by Shakespeare Theater's Michael Kahn. Upcoming productions will include the world premiere of the musical Crossing and a production of Gypsy.
Signature has two theaters, both small with excellent sight lines throughout.
Located in Shirlington, the theater is next to a restaurant row which has about twenty places to choose from ranging from a burger at Johnny Rockets, many ethnic choices, and the Carlyle Grand Cafe,one of the best restaurants in Northern Virginia.

Visited September 2013
Thank sptravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“The Little Theatre That Could”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

In a nutshell, if you want to go to a small, intimate theatre that consistently features top quality Broadway style shows, then this is the theatre for you. Add in the fact that the theatre doesn't have a bad seat in the house and is surrounded by upscale restaurants and shops (all within walking distance) - - it's easy to see why so many people "in the know" keep coming back to this unique place.

We saw Dreamgirls and Miss Saigon at the Signature. Both shows featured a talented cast that rivals Broadway and a rich production value that far exceeds the size of the theatre. You can't see the band and/or orchestra, but the music is so good you actually think it's pre-recorded. Contrary to the bigger theatres on Broadway, the audience sits so close to the stage that everyone must feel they have a first row seat. Absolutely love the place.

Visited September 2013
1 Thank Bob_Terp_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
871 reviews
380 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We go to the Signature about three times a year. Today we saw an excellent remake of MISS SAIGON. We first saw this in 1991 in The Broadway Theater in New York City. The version we saw today, directed by Eric Schaffer, was quite different than the original one. We liked it particularly because of the performance by The Engineer. We enjoyed the vocals and recommend you see it. TIP, try seats in the back Row H center.

Visited September 2013
Thank VAChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went to see miss saigon at the SIGNATURE theatre outside washington d.c. The play first came out in the mid 80's to considerable controversy because of the rawness of the vietnamese war. The story is well told and well directed now and the lead access has a wonderful voice; support was very good but a bit inconsistent. Considering it is 30 years later in a small "local" theatre, this production is well worth seeing

Visited September 2013
Thank arnaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Theatre at the Signature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Signature is a pleasant theatre with 2 stages, one a traditional arrangement with the actors facing the audience straight on and the second with seating on 3 sides of the stage. My wife and I have seen performances at the Signature a number of times during the last several years. The performances are at least good, and occasionally outstanding. We particularly enjoy the intimacy of the stage with audience on 3 sides. The designs of both performance areas are such that every seat would give a good view.

Visited November 2012
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Signature Theatre also viewed


Been to Signature Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing