We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the Hampton Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2000 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Arlington
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the Hampton Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

This past summer my wife and I spent 4 fun-filled days touring Washington DC. We chose this hotel because it was close to the metro and we have stayed at other Hampton Inns in NY and MD. The location of this hotel is excellent. It is only a few minutes away from the metro and a few stops away from all of the tourist attractions in Washington. If you come here by car you have to pay for parking as you do at most hotels down here.
We had a king room with a mini fridge which was great to store snacks and cold drinks. We had a fifth floor room away from the elevators. It was very quiet. You could not hear other guests or any traffic below.The room was a good size for just the two of us and the bathroom was medium sized. It had a hairdryer and had the personal necessities (shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, etc.) It had a pool which we did not use because we were running around sightseeing every day. The area is very nice. It is situated among other hotels and high rise apartment buildings. It is a very safe area.
The staff was very courteous and helpful. The breakfast was sufficient for our needs .We are not big breakfast eaters. You could have scrambled eggs each morning with waffles and something that was like an egg McMuffin. You also had a choice of English muffins, regular muffins like chocolate chip and blueberry and donuts. They also had fresh fruits and yogurt. There was coffee, tea and orange or apple juice. We got a good price for this hotel and are planning to stay at the same hotel in the spring.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    333
    64
    22
    8
See reviews for
338
199
56
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewis Center, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

I have no complaints, room was huge for a standard king room, but from what I've read "standard" room size varies. Staff was very courteous and helpful anytime we needed them. Very short walk from the metro, listen to the other reviewers, best way to the metro is out the back door, down Eads toward the Marriott Crystal Gateway and then a right on 18th ST. We took the metro from the airport got off and took the long way and had to cross the huge intersection of 20th ST & Jefferson Davis.

The biggest downfall is the breakfast area. Yes its small. This is not the staff's/hotel's issue but with the lack of tables in the breakfast area people were spread out all over the lobby eating and weren't picking up after themselves and the staff couldn't keep up with the amount of inconsiderate people staying there. There were plates and half eaten food on each coffee table =/

Everything else though was excellent and I can ignore the food mess since that was due to the guests and not the hotel

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Location: Short walk to the Metro (subway); Metro ride into DC area Smithsonian area takes just a few minutes. Quiet, relatively residential neighborhood. Some good restaurants a few blocks away (try Cafe Italia... you won't be disappointed. There's also a decent Chinese restaurant down the street that delivers right to your room). Area at night was a little desolate... didn't want to walk around the area too much.

Room: Awesome beds -- very comfy. Room had a fridge and microwave. Water pressure in shower was terrible. Clean, but the rug could use a shampoo.

Breakfast: This Hampton Inn had the typical "Hampton Inn Breakfast"... don't expect gourmet and you won't be disappointed! Nice decor in eating area; could use more seating. Overall, a good free breakfast.

Parking: Underground parking. Best deal in DC area. Much cheaper than other hotels. Easy to get a spot near the elevator.

Staff: Didn't deal with them too much, but they seemed friendly enough.

Misc.: There is a pool, but we didn't use it.. During the week it is open for a short while in the morning and then closes and reopens in the evening. There was a small gym too.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

Another reliable stay at the Hampton Inn. This one even had a fitness center with pool. Rooms were clean with toiletries, microwave, bar sink and minifridge. They also had a coffeemaker. My room did not have a view, but was very spacious. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to shopping and restaurants and very close to DC.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

I switched my reservation from the Hyatt Arlington to this Hampton hotel based on the reviews I read here. I was definitely NOT disappointed. I typically stay at Hyatts, Hiltons, Marriots, and Westin hotels about 3 - 4 times a year, and this hotel had some of the cleanest rooms I've seen. I'm not sure what people are talking about with regards to the portable air conditioners in the lobby/breakfast area - I never saw those during my stay. The breakfast area was very nice with complimentary coffee & hot chocolate 24 hours. The free wi-fi was nice, along with 2 complimentary computers with internet access in the business center. Mattresses were quite firm, but very comfortable with wonderful linens and a nice crisp, clean duvet! The building has an odd shape, so even standard room sizes vary. I had a standard room on the 10th floor that was very large, but later moved to the 3rd floor in a corner room that was much smaller (but still just fine - probably wouldn't be able to fit more than 2 people in it though). There was nothing wrong with the 10th floor room - I switched because I wanted to be on a lower floor. The breakfast was quite good with a couple hot items each day and a nice selection of cereals, breads and pastries. The breakfast room is large but was very crowded over the weekend, so I chose to bring the tray up to my room (which was no big deal). The front desk staff were very professional and helpful. I know some people say the best way to the metro is out the back door and right on Eads Street and then a right on 18th. I thought it was much quicker, and definitely more shade to go out the front door and cross the main highway/road at 20th, then follow the covered walkway around the front of the Marriot to the left and continue straight (crossing one more not very busy road) to the Metro. Maybe the hotel says to go out the back because they think it's safer than crossing the Jefferson Davis Highway/Road.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

I agree with the other reveiwers reagrding the large A/C units in the lobby and breakfast room, it gives a poor impression on entering the hotel. The price we received was amazing for what you got. Breakfast was nothing to go crazy over but better than most. We stayed midweek until Saturday morning and we could see a big difference between the crowds. Weekend was more crowded and it was hard to get to the breakfast. Pool had weird hours, only morning and night. Room was very comfortable and spacious. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Their "sister" property next door has a restaurant and provides room service. The Metro is a 3 block walk. Overall we enjoyed our stay and it was a good point for sightseeing to Arlington Cematary, The Pentagon, and Washington DC.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

We booked a flight out of D.C. and decided to go a couple of days early to sightsee. We chose this hotel based on price, proximity to the Metro station and proximity to some local restaurants. It also had one of the more reasonable rates for parking of the area hotels.

The hotel was generally clean. I agree with other posters about the portable air conditioning units in the lobby giving a poor first impression. The rooms, however, were tidy and we had no problem with the air in the room.

We chose a standard double room and it was a bit tight for four people. If you are planning on staying more than a couple of days, I would recommend upgrading to a bigger room.

The staff was exceptionally nice and helpful. They even let us keep our luggage there after we checked out as we wanted to spend the day touring before catching our night flight. My only complaint is that our smoke detector battery went out at night and made that annoying beeping sound. As the maintenance personnel was gone, someone was able to remove the device and get rid of the noise. However, somebody came to "fix" it at 8:00 a.m. As we wanted to sleep in because of having a night flight, this was annoying. Especially since the unit was no longer in our room. All in all, it was a decent place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport

Address: 2000 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Arlington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#5 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Reagan National Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport Hotel Arlington
Hampton Inn Arlington
Arlington Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.