We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taste of Tunisia - CLOSED

Taste of Tunisia
2313 Wilson Blvd, Arlington, VA 22201
703.522.2140
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: African
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We both had couscous, and it was wonderful. The portions are big and the food is dull of flavor. The service was excellent. Mohammed was our server and he answered all questions and did not let our cups get empty. If you are near you must go.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We find several places to eat using Trip Advisor, and this is one of our best finds yet! I had the Taste of Tunisia Couscous. It was amazing. I would ask for it to be a little spicier next time, but the flavor was excellent. Our waiter, Muhammed, was fantastic. We will only be I can the area for a couple of days, but I'm sure this isn't our last visit to Taste of Tunisia!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Wanted to try something new, and was not disappointed. The food was reminiscent of Greek and Persian foods-- fresh and very flavorful. The staff was friendly and helpful, explaining what the dishes were. It's a colorful, small restaurant with interesting decorations. There were hookahs on the windowsill, which may or may not be used on the premises. If so, I would think twice about eating there while they are being used, but I would order take-out next time I go to Arlington.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Big bowl of Lablabi will cure anything I think.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We found Taste of Tunisia on restaurant.com for our visit to Arlington. Appetizer Tunisia Trio (my works) contained a large phyllo triangle with a raw egg inside that was then baked (I assumed). I will be trying this at home. Along with the phyllo, a mash of carrots very lighly spiced and a mash of eggplant. Server (lovely man) said this was "hot", which we like. Hot was an understatement. This will blow your head completely off if you do not eat the accompanying bread with it!! I ordered the lemonade. Do not miss this, what I can only describe as "mystical fluid". The lemonade appeared viscous and pale yellow. The taste was thicker than very liquid lemonade, but I absolutely could not figure out what is was, agar agar perhaps? The flavor was lemon, but lighter and not at all tart but not sweet either. After 2 glasses, I still could not figure this out. My husband ordered the lamb chops, thin but packed with flavor. I had the Lablabi. The bowl was 1/2 size of human head. This chickpea stew was nothing short of amazing. The server instructed me to toss the fresh soft bread into the stew before eating. The bread held its shape for longer than I expected in the brown broth. The chickpeas were cooked to barely holding their shape as was the garlic cloves, which dissolved on your tongue. Tomatoes, spices and other ingredients made for an absolutely wonderful bowl of goodness.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delightful Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We have never had Tunisian food before and. hence, we had not been in this restaurant before. We had the Omek Hourija appetizer and were really impressed. It is mashed carrots mixed with olive oil and spices, and served with the Tunisian mlawi bread which is very, very thin and very, very tasty. If my mother had only made this when I was a child! Yum! We could have made a meal of it. However, I ordered the Couscous Taste of Tunisia with Lamb and my wife ordered the Couscous with Lamb. The former comes with Merguez, a spicy lamb sausage which is excellent and somewhat like Soujok from Lebanon. The dishes are flavored with harissa, a spicy sauce from that area. The dishes had a large chunk of carrot, some eggplant, chick peas, cabbage, and perhaps some other goodies. The couscous is on the bottom. What a delight! The place is small, ten tables, but comfortable. The staff is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. They seemed genuinely glad that we were there (unlike so many restaurants). This may have been our first trip to this restaurant, but it won’t be the last.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Tunisia also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste of Tunisia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.