We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican” 5 of 5 stars
Review of District Taco

District Taco
5723 Lee Highway, Arlington, VA 22207
+1 703-237-1204
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 645 Restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I love District Taco!

The food is deliciously fresh and well-seasoned. They have a great salsa bar with fresh cilantro, chopped onions and jalepenos which is also really nice. Their menu offers a wide selection, but my favorite is the barbacoa (sp?) beef. I have never had their queso, but their guacamole is de-lish. I love their homemade chips, too.

What I think sets this place apart from other Mexican is how fresh it is. Also, the service is wonderful. The staff is quite friendly and helpful.

Another selling point for me is how clean the place is. Even the restrooms. Always very clean. It's my opinion that a restaurant's restroom is a good indicator of how clean the rest of the place is.

Only draw back for me, because I don't have kids, is that there are often a ton of families with kids in there, so it gets a little frenetic at times.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    22
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Local favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

There's a reason the lines are long and parking is hard to find. This is great local mexican food, and it's wonderful that you can customize every taco to the furthest extent. Try the fish tacos when you get a chance! Most people like the guac, too. (It's just so-so to us.)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
592 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Did not stand out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

District Taco is essentially the norm for taco bars. The chicken had no flavor, unseasoned. The beef soft tacos had flavor, but we're salty. The place is loud, really loud and hard to get your order in. On the plus side, they have Boylan's on tap.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Started out as a food truck and expanded to multi locations in the metro area. Guacamole tasted as good as homemade with the right amount of lime, salt, cilantro and obvious avocado chunks. Locally brewed soda selection is fun and well worth $2 price. Quesadilla was great choice for kids. Would definitely return again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Local favorite not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

It looks like a hole in the wall -- but, there are lines out the door at all hours and any wait is definitely worth it. The best tacos around. (You can call and order ahead for takeout.) My favorite are the pork & pineapple soft tacos with a little cheese. The guacamole and chips aren't bad either.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed District Taco also viewed

 

Been to District Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage District Taco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.