We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weak....Chipotle Is All It Is” 2 of 5 stars
Review of District Taco

District Taco
5723 Lee Hwy, Arlington, VA 22207-1424
703-237-1204
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 676 restaurants in Arlington
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Weak....Chipotle Is All It Is”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Look, I was ready, so ready to like this place.

How disappointing.

First of all, no crispy shell tacos. Which strikes me as pretty lame. Secondly, the food that I did end up ordering is just nothing special. It is basic. Sorry, but it really had nada to speak of. Without sauces? Bland. It is Chipotle or anyone else serving burritos or whatever in flour wraps. Chewy & boring.

The environment reminded me of a cafeteria. Or a Roy Rogers, lawd help us all. The fixin's bar was RR all the way. And the place was a pigsty, with sauces & condiments splashed about. Unappealing!

You want good tacos, good food, I'd recommend El Paso Cafe on Pershing in Arlington. I won't waste more money at District Taco.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    33
    16
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Solid Neighborhood Tex-Mex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Cool place, good vibe. The desayuno was so-so, but the Tacos were very solid. Nice people and definitely a lunch-time favorite. We would recommend the tacos and burritos.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No "Moe's" going to "Chipotle" after you try the "Baja Fresh" flavors of District Taco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Here's the thing with District Taco - it's nothing fancy. This is not a five star, fine-dining establishment. This is a taco joint. And one of the best taco joints you'll ever go to.

Osiris Hoil's flagship brick-and-mortar District Taco on Lee Highway is a great place to get lunch or a quick dinner when you just want good, fresh authentic flavors of the Yucatan, wrapped in a tortilla.

The meats are all delicious, from the flavorful chicken to the slow-roasted Carnitas, to the Al Pastor. And equal attention is paid to the myriad toppings, which are delicious and plentiful. They even allow you to add two of the greatest things on Earth to your taco for just a small charge - chorizo and bacon.

The tacos aren't the only good thing on the menu. The burritos put Chipotle and the rest of the chain burrito joints to shame. The nachos are wonderful and even the sides (rice & beans, chips) are fresh and amazing.

No...District Taco is nothing fancy. But if you can look past the sometimes-broken soda machine (dispensing Boylans...yum!), the assembly-line kitchen and the lack of table service, you can find truly authentic Yucatan flavors, fresh food and some of the most delicious tacos you've ever tasted. WELL WORTH IT.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Taste like Tulum...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This place really brought me back to Mexico.....at least the food did, not so much the atmosphere. I had 3 flour al pastor tacos, hubby had 3 corn al pastor tacos, and our daughter had the children's quesadilla meal. All that and two fountain sodas came to $27. The tacos are small, yet filling. They had a great salsa bar.

The food was prepared very fast.

We live on tacos al pastor when we go to Mexico and these tasted just like the real deal.....to bad they don't cost a $1 like they do in MX.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York state
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Authentic Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The menu was easy to pick and choose and cater to each individual's taste. The location was brightly decorated. If you love burritos, quesadillas, and taco bowls, you will love this place!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed District Taco also viewed

Been to District Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage District Taco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.