We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inventive and Absorbing Theater” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Synetic Theater

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Synetic Theater
2611 Jefferson Davis Highway, Suite 103, Arlington, VA 22202
1 703.824.8060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 28 Attractions in Arlington
Attraction details
DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Inventive and Absorbing Theater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have been attending Synetic's SIlent Shakespeare series for years - your first reaction will be that Shakespeare without the text just cannot work. Trust me, it does. The story and emotions are conveyed through movement, costumes, original music and inventive staging (for The Tempest a water pool covered most of the stage evoking the sea and island setting of the play). The text based performances are a little bit less interesting to me, but still well worth going. Convenient to Crystal City Metro and free parking evenings and weekends.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Treasure...if lucky enough to find it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stumbled across this theater while seeking Metro access from our hotel. We pondered the worthiness of this theater for my birthday evening and I am SO pleased we took the plunge.

The theater is very spacious and comfortable. Our last minute seats were perfect (2 X $45) for the presentation of The Three Musketeers. What a witty, humorous and very entertaining production. The actors were excellent.....some, worthy of Broadway.

For a wonderful experience, do not hesitate to visit the Synetic!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Absolutely Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We came accross this Synetic Theater a little by coincidence, and what a tremendous surprise we got. This is theather is the most professional way at the most affordable price.
The Three Musketeers was entertaining, funny, very well done and truly unique, which is impressive considering the high standards of such a tale.

The actors were superb. The special effects and lighting, something important to me, who have been on the stage as well and know the challenges of creating and coordinating special effects on--what I am sure is--a limited budget. Everything about the performance was grandiose, and there was nothing left to be desired when compared to the likes of Kennedy Center or Imagination Stage performances.
What a gem!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Md.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very interesting theater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have been to Synetic many times, and we have almost always enjoyed the performances. They are very inventive and unlike most dance theaters you will go to. In my opinion, their wordless Shakepearean performances are the best. And the Metro stop couldn't be more convenient!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“One of the most powerful and unusual theatre experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have been to several of the Synetic Theatre's productions of Shakespeare plays without words. And I will be back for more. Without dialogue, it is useful to know the plot line. But the acting is so powerful, that's not even necessary.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Synetic Theater also viewed

 

Been to Synetic Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Synetic Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.